Captain
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 683
Ok, here's the next problem now... (besides it crashing alot and barely loading)... apparently, I've got 2 tasks to do in my foundry episode.... choose a character and type some dialogue, on the very first area of the project (it's the first thing you do anyways, when you start a project, if you know what I mean)....

ANYHOW, yeppers... um.... since I did that at the very beginning of the project (since you can't start a project really without doing it), it's done... YET the tasks area is saying it's not been done!!!??!?!?!!!

THE FOUNDRY IS CR%$PING OUT TOO MUCH!!!!!

Phew........****cough***... ahem...


alrighty.. time to calm down.....

But JEEZ man, C'MON ! Enough of these problems already! After this episode is made (IF I can convince the foundry that the tasks it's asking to do, ARE DONE), and once it's published, that's it for me , Brothers and Sisters.

I've had enough of the so called "Foundry", well folks, no disrespect , yet if it is indeed the Foundry of STO, then perhaps make it either really good to use, such as having it as an Installable software to a persons computer, OR change the name from "Foundry" to "Cause-Of-Lost-Interest".

Grrrrrr.

I have no doubt this post will be taken down.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,557
# 2
06-25-2013, 08:40 AM
First of all, keep calm. Are you sure the error is coming from the project summary?

It's not always clear where a task error is coming from. The project summary isn't the only place these need to be set. Popup dialogs, map dialogs, talk to contacts all need to have these set. There is also the possibility of a orphaned dialog tree in your dialog list. (Although these usually produce an unplaced object error.)

@greendragoon
Captain
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 683
# 3
06-25-2013, 08:42 AM
solved... I had to log back in a few times, but it finally got solved after re-logging in a few times to the project...

***sigh***

forgive me STO team for complainin as I did, but.... the "squeaky wheel gets the grease".

I strongly suggest to have the Foundry be an installable program. Yes perhaps no one else has done it yet in the game worlds online, yet if you did it, not only would the community of STO appreciate it, yet it would , as another pointed out elsewhere, give others something to do during maintenance.

So I pray to the Big Guy in the Sky, that you folks do this. PUH-Lease.

Trust me when I say, this would be a good wise choice.
Captain
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 683
# 4
06-25-2013, 08:44 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegreendragoon1 View Post
First of all, keep calm. Are you sure the error is coming from the project summary?

It's not always clear where a task error is coming from. The project summary isn't the only place these need to be set. Popup dialogs, map dialogs, talk to contacts all need to have these set. There is also the possibility of a orphaned dialog tree in your dialog list. (Although these usually produce an unplaced object error.)
Thank you LOL, for telling me to keep calm, I just have dealt with ALOT of things with the foundry ... every time I work with it ....

but God Bless ya for posting a comment, I appreciate it. the problem is solved now and I'm gonna get back to work on it for as long as my patience holds....
Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
# 5
07-03-2013, 05:10 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by amahood View Post
Ok, here's the next problem now... (besides it crashing alot and barely loading)... apparently, I've got 2 tasks to do in my foundry episode.... choose a character and type some dialogue, on the very first area of the project (it's the first thing you do anyways, when you start a project, if you know what I mean)....

ANYHOW, yeppers... um.... since I did that at the very beginning of the project (since you can't start a project really without doing it), it's done... YET the tasks area is saying it's not been done!!!??!?!?!!!

THE FOUNDRY IS CR%$PING OUT TOO MUCH!!!!!

Phew........****cough***... ahem...


alrighty.. time to calm down.....

But JEEZ man, C'MON ! Enough of these problems already! After this episode is made (IF I can convince the foundry that the tasks it's asking to do, ARE DONE), and once it's published, that's it for me , Brothers and Sisters.

I've had enough of the so called "Foundry", well folks, no disrespect , yet if it is indeed the Foundry of STO, then perhaps make it either really good to use, such as having it as an Installable software to a persons computer, OR change the name from "Foundry" to "Cause-Of-Lost-Interest".

Grrrrrr.

I have no doubt this post will be taken down.


I too am having significant problems. I am trying to publish my first Foundry project, but have a grand total of sixteen tasks left to complete. Eight are "Select Costume" and eight are "Fill in text"...and they alternate in the list. So, I went story piece by story piece and verified that all of the contacts, dialogues, etc. have costumes and that all of their texts blanks actually do contain text. I also checked to make sure that I didn't have any stray, unconnected story panels sitting to the side. However, the tasks remain in the pane, and I cannot publish. Can anyone help with this? I tried closing and opening the editor multiple times, but that doesn't work for me.

Thank you!
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,512
# 6
07-03-2013, 05:31 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerrdogj View Post
I too am having significant problems. I am trying to publish my first Foundry project, but have a grand total of sixteen tasks left to complete. Eight are "Select Costume" and eight are "Fill in text"...and they alternate in the list. So, I went story piece by story piece and verified that all of the contacts, dialogues, etc. have costumes and that all of their texts blanks actually do contain text. I also checked to make sure that I didn't have any stray, unconnected story panels sitting to the side. However, the tasks remain in the pane, and I cannot publish. Can anyone help with this? I tried closing and opening the editor multiple times, but that doesn't work for me.

Thank you!
Did you go through your dialogues in the Dialogs tab?

Check out my Foundry missions:
Standalone - The Great Escape - The Galaxy's Fair - Purity I: Of Denial - Return to Oblivion
The Defenders - Duritanium Man - The Improbable Bulk - [WIP] Commander Rihan
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
# 7
07-03-2013, 06:07 PM
Same issues, but i try to re-logging, and no change.


I have 2 tasks, but, this task is useless... All text is complete, all dialogue have NPC... and 2 tasks for this ... but i check 50.000 times, and no error.

So i hope tomorrow this problem has been solved ...
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,512
# 8
07-03-2013, 09:05 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by pascaldu76 View Post
Same issues, but i try to re-logging, and no change.


I have 2 tasks, but, this task is useless... All text is complete, all dialogue have NPC... and 2 tasks for this ... but i check 50.000 times, and no error.

So i hope tomorrow this problem has been solved ...
Did you check the dialogs tab? Sometimes a dialogue can "lose" its map and the only place to find it is there.

Check out my Foundry missions:
Standalone - The Great Escape - The Galaxy's Fair - Purity I: Of Denial - Return to Oblivion
The Defenders - Duritanium Man - The Improbable Bulk - [WIP] Commander Rihan
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
# 9
07-04-2013, 06:14 AM
Yes, all is correct...

I wait few hours, and now it's correct... I see 1 Dialog who adding without my authorization.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:36 PM.