Lt. Commander
# 1 STO is unplayable
01-18-2010, 11:16 AM
Right now STO is unplayable for me

I am begining to suspect that I have some sort of issue beyond just being based in New Zealand, the recent high load on the server and the login issues. Firstly I should say that I am a veteran of many MMO's and currently active in SWG & DDO, with no issues whatsoever. My PC exceeds the minimum tesch spec, I have the latest drivers for my ATI card and I have had no issues playing Warhammer, Age of Conan & beta testing Fallen Earth recently, so I am surprised by the issues I am having with STO.

My issues with STO are as follows: - It takes me several attempts to log into the game at best, and when I am in-game, there is either complete lag conditions, (stuck in place, rubber-banding, flickering, uncontrolable movement), or I have the red "Server not Responding" message every 30 seconds. Over the past 4 days I have yet to complete the tutorial, or even get to my own ship due to the above problems.

I have been following the support forums and reading through the technical issues threads and have not seen anyone else suffering from the above 'Server not Responding" problems. I have even contacted other NZ based players who are at least able to get in game for significant periods of time, that may have lag, but nothing as severe as I am having.

I conclude that there is something not quite right with my set up and I have therefore created a Dxdiag for your review, (http://pastebin.com/m71d0ec68)

If anyone has any other suggestions, I am all ears, (a Spock reference )
Lt. Commander
# 2
01-18-2010, 10:24 PM
Bump bump bumpity bump
Lt. Commander
# 3
01-18-2010, 10:27 PM
I'm in Australia (though on ADSL2+) and aside from the server wide "cannot log in" stuff, it plays like a dream whenever I'm in.
Lt. Commander
# 4
01-18-2010, 10:36 PM