Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I know the min and req specs for display are 7950...
But after doing some forums searching and reading it would appear that I might be able to run the game with
a lower card..
Basically for you techies out there... will this run the game?? Info from dxdiag..


Machine name: ATHLON64X24200
Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.090206-1233)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: NVIDIA
System Model: AWRDACPI
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+, MMX, 3DNow (2 CPUs), ~2.2GHz
Memory: 1024MB RAM
Page File: 696MB used, 1763MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode


Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce 7600 GT
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0391&SUBSYS_201F19F1&REV_A1
Display Memory: 256.0 MB
Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (85Hz)
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: nv4_disp.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.8426 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 5/18/2006 06:56:13, 3975040 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
VDD: n/a
Mini VDD: nv4_mini.sys
Mini VDD Date: 5/18/2006 06:56:14, 3655712 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-40D1-11CF-AB5A-150000C2CB35}
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-18-2010, 01:15 PM
The 7600 GT will run STO, albeit on lower settings, but it will run adequately.

I tested this myself on another PC I have with relatively fast CPU/motherboard, but older 7600 GT cards in SLI. I tried it solo as well (dsiabled SLI) and the closed beta of STO ran. It runs better if you manually tweak the graphics settings. Turn off AA, use lowest settings for lighting and shadows, and also turn off post-processing effects such as bloom, soft particles, etc.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-18-2010, 04:49 PM
First time I got through character creation... warm boot
Now every time I get to the Atari logo while launching.. it warm boots
I have the latest version of mozilla Firefox installed, but not running
I installed ver 1.14 of HWMonitor.. doesn't show my Nvidia card... nothing has gone above 116 degrees
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-18-2010, 05:29 PM
I'm installing 195.62 drivers since their for XP... I see people using 190.62 but their written for win7 and vista..
Hope that doesnt make the issue worse.
Also I have a Antec TP3-650 power supply (650 watts)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-18-2010, 05:44 PM
195.62 is the current nvidia driver for windows platform from XP to Win 7 including vista so 190.xx drivers also exsit for xp they are probably archived.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-18-2010, 06:10 PM
ok I found the 190.62 driver for xp..

will try it over the 195.62

As I stated I have ver 1.14 of CPUID HWMonitor running, it doesnt show the Nvidia cards GPU temp.
I have speed fan 4.40 running and it shows the GPU running at 58c..while web searching... I dont know if the temp spikes because the system always warm boots when loading STO

dug out crash and shutdown logs which both exactly read..
100118 23:41:15 325 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down: C:\src\Core\CrypticLauncher\StartingScreen.c(618)
100119 00:05:21 20 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down: C:\src\Core\CrypticLauncher\StartingScreen.c(618)
100119 00:35:18 18 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down: C:\src\Core\CrypticLauncher\StartingScreen.c(618)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:08 PM.