Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
01-21-2010, 10:19 AM
Recent patch as in nvidia driver patch or game patch ?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
01-21-2010, 03:16 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sepulch View Post
Recent patch as in nvidia driver patch or game patch ?
In reference to stuttering problems, it's a new NVIDIA driver. But STO also had a big patch early this morning/last night.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
01-21-2010, 03:28 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by begone77 View Post
I run 2 9800 GTs in SLI and before the recent patch I was getting like 5-10 FPS on ground with low settings, Now I can get 25 FPS on med settings with shadows and lights turned off :/

SO yes it runs better but for a setup that can run Dragon Age on full, FEAR2 on full and Crysis on high this sure is running hard on my system
Seriously? I run two 8800GTs in SLI, and I've had nothing but smooth playing on the ground both before an after patch with everything turned up except AA. I think you're getting screwed somewhere, my drivers are the 190.xx version and apparently they work best with this game.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
01-22-2010, 07:17 PM
That is pretty low for 2 9800 GTs. I am running 2x9800 S (512MB) @1920x1080 and I get 30-40 inside and 40-50 in space. I am running forceware 190.38 on a Firebird 802 (stock).
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15 No SLi on twin 280s
01-22-2010, 10:23 PM
Are you guys sure the SLi stuff is working? I have 2 280s SLi'd, but when I turn on the the SLi visual indicators I get nothing. I even went in and added gameclient.exe directly but nothing. There is a little blip of activity at the character select screen, but when I enter the game at the starport the SLi indicators go to zero. This is with the new nVidia drivers 196.21 and I even loaded DragonAge to verify SLi was actually enabled and it pegged them both.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
01-22-2010, 11:14 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by friscochap View Post
Are you guys sure the SLi stuff is working? I have 2 280s SLi'd, but when I turn on the the SLi visual indicators I get nothing. I even went in and added gameclient.exe directly but nothing. There is a little blip of activity at the character select screen, but when I enter the game at the starport the SLi indicators go to zero. This is with the new nVidia drivers 196.21 and I even loaded DragonAge to verify SLi was actually enabled and it pegged them both.
Mine works just fine for two GPUs. I let the STO application determine how to utilize SLI.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
01-22-2010, 11:22 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by friscochap View Post
Are you guys sure the SLi stuff is working? I have 2 280s SLi'd, but when I turn on the the SLi visual indicators I get nothing. I even went in and added gameclient.exe directly but nothing. There is a little blip of activity at the character select screen, but when I enter the game at the starport the SLi indicators go to zero. This is with the new nVidia drivers 196.21 and I even loaded DragonAge to verify SLi was actually enabled and it pegged them both.
Unless you have a custom profile you created, the default one may not use SLI, you can tell it to force use Alternate frame rendering 2. If you do this your SLI indicators will work
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 18
01-23-2010, 07:56 AM
Yeah,without using force alt 1 or force alt 2 I didn't even get the SLi indicator, and with them I just get the little blip I described.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 19 I now have SLi
01-23-2010, 05:06 PM
Don't know what was happening, but I'd given up on getting SLi so I unchecked the advanced settings check box in the video options and as soon as I did the SLi kicked in. And when I checked it again SLi stayed on so it looks like the problem has "corrected" itself.

I'm now running full settings with 50+ FPS in station.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 20
01-24-2010, 03:40 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sepulch View Post
That's some very good news, I got two 8800GTX cards and while these start to get dated in these modern fast evolving times, running them in pairs still give me a tremendous performance boost. Though I'm not sure if your card can indeed be compared with an actual SLI setup.
Yes it can even though cards like the gtx295, 9800gx2,and for ATI 4870x2,5970 ect look like single cards they are all dualcard set ups and actualy hven internal SlI and Crossfire but with the advantage of that they only take up one PCi-E x16 slot which means in games that support SLI/Crosfire they will give you an amazeing boost but in games that dont your performance may suffer

So for example the GTX295 is basicly x2 GTX260 samwiched togeather but with all the shaders unlocked which means in games that support SLI it will give you slightly better performance than running x2 GTX260 in SLI but in games that dont support SLI it will give you slightly higher performance than a single gtx260
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:00 AM.