Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Nice new launcher...
01-20-2010, 04:46 PM
...except there is no way to launch the game anymore...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-20-2010, 04:47 PM
I noticed that
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-20-2010, 04:47 PM
Indeed, I have this issue too lol.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-20-2010, 04:49 PM
Yeah. I would say my beta test has revealed that being unable to launch the game is a bug that ought to be fixed :p
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-20-2010, 04:49 PM
Yeah, that was odd, eh?

You have to go into the STO directory/Live and GameClient.exe
Do I have to create more connections?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-20-2010, 04:49 PM
Yeah, that's a D'oh! to the developer that didn't test the size of that screen properly!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-20-2010, 04:49 PM
If you drag your cursor over the cryptic trademark message at the bottom, you should be able to get to the PLAY button, while Cryptic sort out the Launcher sizing
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-20-2010, 04:49 PM
Seems silly, but if you guys have the same problem as me (fonts are way too huge for everything to fit inside the unsizeable launcher window), click anywhere inside the launcher and drag, as if to highlight, towards the right/bottom edges of the launcher. That should drag your screen over enough to see the (now huge) Play button to launch the game.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-20-2010, 04:50 PM
The Launcher is a small window in the corner of my desktop.... I can't even start the patch launch after I log in.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
01-20-2010, 04:50 PM
I'm having the same issue. It seems that the new launcher has more stuff than can fit in the old launcher window, and due to an oversight, they didn't increase the size of the launcher window. you can't maximize the window, you can't alt+enter the window, so there is no way to actually launch the game from the launcher as you can't actually SEE the button to do so.

EDIT: As stated above while I was writing this post, you can indeed highlight the Cryptic copyright text and drag your mouse over and down to get the rest of the stuff that's supposed to be in the window.

I'm not a big fan of game launchers, I think they are unnecessary. Several other MMOs, including WoW don't require you to use a launcher. You can launch the client directly and if there is a patch, it detects it, closes down, and runs an updater. This should be an option to negate the required use of a launcher.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:37 PM.