Ensign
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12
# 1 Patcher fails, error 14
05-17-2013, 01:19 PM
Starting a few days ago and again tonight I am plagued by this:

Patch: Got command DO_BUTTON_ACTION Startrek:Holodeck
startPatch, current root C:/Program Files (x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/Star Trek
Online/Star Trek Online/Live new Startrek:Holodeck
Connecting with root C:/Program Files (x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/Star Trek Onl
ine/Star Trek Online/Live
PatchClientLib: connecting to patchserver.crypticstudios.com:7255
PatchClientLib: redirecting to 208.95.184.176:7255
PatchClientLib: skipping unneeded autoupdate CrypticLauncherST
PatchClientLib: successfully connected
PatchClientLib: Using HTTP patching: server stohttppatch.crypticstudios.com port
80 prefix Startrek
PatchClientLib: unexpectedly disconnected
PatchClientLib Error: The patchclientlib is internally recording error code : 14

The connection to the server was lost - unexpectedly disconnected
Error 14: The connection to the server was lost. Restart in 10.
Error 14: The connection to the server was lost. Restart in 9.
Error 14: The connection to the server was lost. Restart in 8.
Error 14: The connection to the server was lost. Restart in 7.
Error 14: The connection to the server was lost. Restart in 6.
Error 14: The connection to the server was lost. Restart in 5.
Error 14: The connection to the server was lost. Restart in 4.
Error 14: The connection to the server was lost. Restart in 3.
Error 14: The connection to the server was lost. Restart in 2.
Error 14: The connection to the server was lost. Restart in 1.

Every other game I own is fine and it's only started happening in the last couple of days since the tribble weekend. With or without on demand patching, it's always the same. Then some time later it will work - this is maddening! I was on tribble, could it have something to do with that? Can I replace this patchlib? Who's end is that on, mine or cryptics?
Ensign
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12
# 2
05-18-2013, 04:12 AM
1 hour ago I got in and the game was fine. Now it's back to error 14.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 406
# 3
05-18-2013, 04:58 AM
I have error 36 in the launcher and then patching restart in 10 then back to error 36. in an endless loop.

This is when trying to get in to Tribble

Last edited by mattachine; 05-18-2013 at 05:04 AM.
Former PWE Community Team Lead
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9,046
# 4
05-18-2013, 07:33 AM
Tha me for the report, captains. We're investigating this.

Cheers,

Brandon =/\=
Brandon "BranFlakes" Felczer | Former Community Team Lead for Perfect World Entertainment
Ensign
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12
# 5
05-19-2013, 09:56 AM
Today I removed all sto content from steam, saved my steamapps folder, removed steam completely, rebooted then started from scratch. Install steam, put the steamapps back, repair the ones that needed it till it was back to normal. Then I installed a fresh STO, that worked and when I started it, it patched itself fine. It restarted and I was back to error 14.
So whatever it is, the problem is with the current build.

I'm now downloading the STO torrent. I want to see if the non-steam version has the same problem.
Ensign
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12
# 6
05-19-2013, 01:56 PM
And to no great surprise, the torrent version with no steam has the same problem. Google for patchclientlib gets you a fair number of hits with folk complaining about exactly the same problem with other cryptic games too.

Less than 3 days left till LoR, come on Cryptic, shake a leg and fix this stuff.
Ensign
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12
# 7
05-19-2013, 02:01 PM
One last thing: If I use the STOQuickLaunch that skips the patcher, I get to log in, pick a char and try to enter the game. It retrieves maps then I get disconnected from the login server.

This is a problem at Cryptics end. Testing done, now fix it.
Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
# 8 patch issues
05-19-2013, 02:04 PM
i have tried everything the so called tech peps have said and like the others i was able to patch until 72% when the game said lost connection .i really wish cryptic would get there sh@t together its becoming a FUBAR!
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
# 9
01-20-2014, 10:43 PM
ahh good so I'm not the only one with this damn problem..
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:57 PM.