Republic Veteran
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,187
# 241
06-19-2013, 10:13 AM
It's hideous today. Had to log in 3 times just to get in. Once in, kept getting Server not responding in the midst of an Azure Nebula Rescue (fortunately, I didn't die till it was almost over, but I came close a couple of times before that). Then I got DCed and had to log in at least 5 times before I managed to get back in.

Fvillhu s'Tal'Diann (Phi'Tlaru Rihan) ~(‾.▿.‾)~ Praetor of the Tal'Diann (Romulan Military Intelligence)
Tal'Diann = KDF-allied Romulan Republic Fleet / Tal Diann = Fed-allied Romulan Republic Fleet
Ensign
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
# 242
06-22-2013, 04:38 PM
It's happening for me again. Had to leave a fleet action because of lousy lag and contstant 'server not responding'. It's been going on since last night. I've had a week or so of reasonably good service, then everything has gone pear-shaped.

ISP is Telstra Cable internet (Sydney, Australia).

What gives, Cryptic?
By the looks of things the Cogentco network has a dead node. If other people having issues run WFTrace to us1.proxy.crypticstudios.com I'll bet we'll see more confirmations that Cogentco has dropped the ball.

For the record:
World of Tanks: no issues
Rift: No issues
Borderlands 2 multiplayer via Steam: no issues
Lord of the Rings Online: No issues
STO: Constant recurring problems on a daily/weekly basis

Now for the techie stuff:

Running WFTrace to us1.proxy.crypticstudios.com.

Tracing route to us1.proxy.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.152] with TTL of 32:

1 48ms 41ms 44ms 10.240.***.*
2 14ms 22ms 19ms vl404.cqcw-s-1.cht.bigpond.net.au [58.160.8.129]
3 15ms 12ms 12ms te6-4.agg1.cht.bigpond.net.au [58.160.15.250]
4 13ms 13ms 20ms Bundle-Ether11.chw-edge901.sydney.telstra.net [139.130.190.165]
5 20ms 22ms 18ms bundle-ether13.chw-core2.sydney.telstra.net [203.50.11.98]
6 19ms 20ms 20ms bundle-ether1.oxf-gw2.sydney.telstra.net [203.50.6.90]
7 14ms 18ms 18ms 203.50.13.130
8 10ms 10ms 11ms i-0-2-0-6.sydo-core02.bi.telstraglobal.net [202.84.223.46]
9 147ms 147ms 149ms i-0-2-0-4.1wlt-core01.bx.telstraglobal.net [202.84.249.54]
10 185ms 185ms 183ms unknown.telstraglobal.net [202.40.149.238]
11 162ms 167ms 167ms cogent-peer.eqla01.pr.telstraglobal.net [134.159.63.198]
12 170ms 162ms 161ms be2023.ccr21.lax01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.30.185]
13 227ms 259ms * te0-2-0-3.ccr21.iah01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.44.241]
14 227ms 225ms 221ms te0-2-0-7.mpd21.atl01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.2.221]
15 223ms 232ms 225ms te0-4-0-7.mpd21.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.25.249]
16 233ms 225ms 229ms te0-7-0-20.mpd21.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.1.106]
17 230ms 233ms 236ms te0-2-0-6.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.44.94]
18 235ms 230ms 233ms te4-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.42]
19 253ms 236ms 240ms 38.111.40.114
20 235ms 233ms 231ms us1.proxy.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.152]
Traceroute complete.

Nettest:

contacting nettest server..
Local IP: 121.210.**.**
Ping: 231.5 msec
Port: 80: 100 KB/sec 6 KB/sec 106 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 157 KB/sec 9 KB/sec 166 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 63 KB/sec 4 KB/sec 68 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 60 KB/sec 4 KB/sec 64 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 142 KB/sec 8 KB/sec 150 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 149 KB/sec 8 KB/sec 158 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 72 KB/sec 4 KB/sec 76 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 166 KB/sec 10 KB/sec 174 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 73 KB/sec 3 KB/sec 76 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 197 KB/sec 11 KB/sec 208 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 30 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 32 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 156 KB/sec 9 KB/sec 165 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 154 KB/sec 8 KB/sec 162 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit

Interestingly, I have had to run nettest several times to get a complete test done. I wonder why?

Although I have absolutely zero faith in Cryptic/PWE to be both willing and able to implement a fix, I hope that one of their staff takes a break from a hard day under the Somebody Else's Problem field and at least has a look at the above.

Cheerio, chaps.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,422
# 243
06-23-2013, 01:54 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by wozronn View Post
It's happening for me again. Had to leave a fleet action because of lousy lag and contstant 'server not responding'. It's been going on since last night. I've had a week or so of reasonably good service, then everything has gone pear-shaped.

ISP is Telstra Cable internet (Sydney, Australia).

What gives, Cryptic?
By the looks of things the Cogentco network has a dead node. If other people having issues run WFTrace to us1.proxy.crypticstudios.com I'll bet we'll see more confirmations that Cogentco has dropped the ball.

For the record:
World of Tanks: no issues
Rift: No issues
Borderlands 2 multiplayer via Steam: no issues
Lord of the Rings Online: No issues
STO: Constant recurring problems on a daily/weekly basis

Now for the techie stuff:

Running WFTrace to us1.proxy.crypticstudios.com.

Tracing route to us1.proxy.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.152] with TTL of 32:

1 48ms 41ms 44ms 10.240.***.*
2 14ms 22ms 19ms vl404.cqcw-s-1.cht.bigpond.net.au [58.160.8.129]
3 15ms 12ms 12ms te6-4.agg1.cht.bigpond.net.au [58.160.15.250]
4 13ms 13ms 20ms Bundle-Ether11.chw-edge901.sydney.telstra.net [139.130.190.165]
5 20ms 22ms 18ms bundle-ether13.chw-core2.sydney.telstra.net [203.50.11.98]
6 19ms 20ms 20ms bundle-ether1.oxf-gw2.sydney.telstra.net [203.50.6.90]
7 14ms 18ms 18ms 203.50.13.130
8 10ms 10ms 11ms i-0-2-0-6.sydo-core02.bi.telstraglobal.net [202.84.223.46]
9 147ms 147ms 149ms i-0-2-0-4.1wlt-core01.bx.telstraglobal.net [202.84.249.54]
10 185ms 185ms 183ms unknown.telstraglobal.net [202.40.149.238]
11 162ms 167ms 167ms cogent-peer.eqla01.pr.telstraglobal.net [134.159.63.198]
12 170ms 162ms 161ms be2023.ccr21.lax01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.30.185]
13 227ms 259ms * te0-2-0-3.ccr21.iah01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.44.241]
14 227ms 225ms 221ms te0-2-0-7.mpd21.atl01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.2.221]
15 223ms 232ms 225ms te0-4-0-7.mpd21.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.25.249]
16 233ms 225ms 229ms te0-7-0-20.mpd21.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.1.106]
17 230ms 233ms 236ms te0-2-0-6.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.44.94]
18 235ms 230ms 233ms te4-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.42]
19 253ms 236ms 240ms 38.111.40.114
20 235ms 233ms 231ms us1.proxy.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.152]
Traceroute complete.

Nettest:

contacting nettest server..
Local IP: 121.210.**.**
Ping: 231.5 msec
Port: 80: 100 KB/sec 6 KB/sec 106 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 157 KB/sec 9 KB/sec 166 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 63 KB/sec 4 KB/sec 68 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 60 KB/sec 4 KB/sec 64 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 142 KB/sec 8 KB/sec 150 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 149 KB/sec 8 KB/sec 158 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 72 KB/sec 4 KB/sec 76 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 166 KB/sec 10 KB/sec 174 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 73 KB/sec 3 KB/sec 76 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 197 KB/sec 11 KB/sec 208 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 30 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 32 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 156 KB/sec 9 KB/sec 165 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 154 KB/sec 8 KB/sec 162 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit

Interestingly, I have had to run nettest several times to get a complete test done. I wonder why?

Although I have absolutely zero faith in Cryptic/PWE to be both willing and able to implement a fix, I hope that one of their staff takes a break from a hard day under the Somebody Else's Problem field and at least has a look at the above.

Cheerio, chaps.
Correct. Allow me to redirect.
http://techsupport.perfectworld.com/ the consolidated PWE forum. Very nice.

http://techsupport.perfectworld.com/...play.php?f=353 the subforum you want.

http://techsupport.perfectworld.com/...ead.php?t=4181 the sticky thread you want.

The response is:

The hosting and setup works fine for most players.

If it was causing millions of players to not be able to play, thousands of tickets being sent in about that issue, and the servers not being heavily populated with players, then IMHO, it would be investigated more.

Every online game has a small group of players that will always have weird network or connection issues. There are billions of configuration variables.

Cogentco I think has weird port or routes data in such a way that affects certain players.

PWE goes back and forth with them frequently, and they often say nothing is wrong.

I understand your frustrations, and I hope you do check it out again.

With the network troubles you are having with STO, you should check out Torchlight 2. Amazingly fun game, 2-6 player online play, and really fun single player. Steam runs sales on it frequently, and the Steam version has achievements.
http://store.steampowered.com/app/200710/

Here's a two minute bit I posted about the fun time I had discovering this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=psyL...otq2By_2-8qqIg

TLDR; It will likely work itself out. It seems to be some strange floating point error. I've gone from unplayable to maybe one or two timeouts per hour or less. It doesn't seem to be something that can just be "fixed" like we wish it would be.

Cheers.
If I don't respond to posts on this forum don't be offended. I don't sub or follow any of them.
Ensign
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
# 244
06-24-2013, 04:43 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by thissler View Post

Here's a two minute bit I posted about the fun time I had discovering this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=psyL...otq2By_2-8qqIg

Cheers.
Hey, I'm e-famous! Woot!

Nice clip

That aside I have contacted my ISP and asked to be moved to a different transpacific cable to avoid Cogentco... wait and see.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 149
# 245
06-24-2013, 04:51 PM
Well today has been a strange day trying to play STO!

This morning I could click on the launcher and get the engage buton and play the game.

This afternoon I click the launcher and all I get is one thing I can do...

The Gateway!

No engage, no patching, nothing but "The Gateway".


I tried the useless tech support site but I just get sent into the famous redirect endless loop, so I reverted to my normal communication with PWE/Cryptic Tech Support... FRAKING EMAIL!

This time I offered my 35 years of experience as a Network Engineer to help fix their so-callled "Network" so we might have a stable and fast game, but I doubt I will get a response for that offer. Also I have ATT as my ISP and now I am getting the problems that others are having just trying to play this game on such a BAD Network setup that PWE/Cryptic seems to think is just fine!

WOW PWE/Cryptic do you really think the problems are in the ISP's and not in your systems? REALLY?

If you would like to see a "real" network come look at the Global Network I work on everyday for my company! They know Networking and so do I and I can tell you that yours is failing more everyday now!

Maybe it's time to review your systems and how they are setup and maintained and who is doing the design and maintenance for you!

And yes I work on Routers, Load Balancers, Firewalls, Switches, and servers that handle millions of transcations for millions of customers every minute of every day so I do know Networking!
Creator of Olympus - Home of the Gods
"I don't test my code often, but when I do I test it in Production"The most interesting dev in the world

I rather be a fence post in Texas than the King of PWE

Last edited by zeus16nbs; 06-24-2013 at 08:15 PM.
Ensign
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 27
# 246
06-24-2013, 06:02 PM
I think there is a huge design flaw in the game. because if you click safe option, before you launch the game, the picture size is so small that can't see the game. but works fine on that option, using your monitor size screen. seems to stop the sever form working, indeed the game designers own fault, they know that this is so bad that it will never be fixed. in one theory when they made the design for the hole thing. they never used full screen size when making the game. they have dropped the coin now because they put another season in to the game that it can no longer cope, I can never see this game working again, the screen size is what is causing the server not responding.
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
# 247
06-24-2013, 06:29 PM
Can someone help me understand what this all means, I have terrible lag


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 4 ms 10 ms 12 ms 192.168.1.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 12 ms 13 ms 12 ms 67.59.234.69
4 19 ms 19 ms 13 ms ool-4353f609.dyn.optonline.net [67.83.246.9]
5 14 ms 19 ms 14 ms 65.19.119.213
6 17 ms 31 ms 23 ms 64.15.0.242
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 17 ms 15 ms 14 ms te0-1-0-2.mpd22.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.1.161]
9 49 ms 20 ms 21 ms te0-1-0-2.ccr22.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.44.34]
10 22 ms 21 ms 24 ms te3-2.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.
130]
11 25 ms 20 ms 30 ms 38.111.40.114
12 30 ms 22 ms 19 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.



C:\Windows\system32>

contacting nettest server..
Local IP: 24.191.90.16
Ping: 22.9 msec
Port: 80: 2411 KB/sec 85 KB/sec 2603 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 2439 KB/sec 136 KB/sec 2648 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 1723 KB/sec 59 KB/sec 1840 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 2508 KB/sec 89 KB/sec 2700 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 2060 KB/sec 99 KB/sec 2222 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 2559 KB/sec 145 KB/sec 2782 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 1887 KB/sec 92 KB/sec 2028 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 2412 KB/sec 117 KB/sec 2614 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 2190 KB/sec 118 KB/sec 2374 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 2087 KB/sec 112 KB/sec 2254 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 2424 KB/sec 123 KB/sec 2627 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 2392 KB/sec 134 KB/sec 2591 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 2549 KB/sec 149 KB/sec 2770 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 230
# 248
06-24-2013, 06:45 PM
Having trouble traveling through the Cogent network, well Verizon and Cogent are in a "peering" spat. Not being a network specialist I can't tell you this directly affects STO but considering Netflix's traffic flow through the same pipes one must wonder.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Verizon, Cogent Engage in Peering Spat

Jun 20 2013

Companies Play the Blame Game Over Allegations that Verizon is Degrading the Performance of Netflix Streams

Verizon Communications and Cogent Communications are in a war of words this week over allegations that Verizon is purposefully saturating its peering points with Cogent and causing the performance of Netflix video streams to degrade.

The battle kicked off in a report in GigaOm on Monday, with Cogent CEO telling the publication that Verizon is allowing the peer connections to degrade, adding that some of the ports are at 100% capacity.

Verizon shot back Wednesday via this blog post from company VP of federal regulatory affairs David Young, claiming that the traffic loads being shared between Verizon and Cogent are now out of balance and Cogent is creating a perceived crisis and upset that it might have to pay more to boost capacity.

Cogent is not compliant with one of the basic and long-standing requirements for most settlement-free peering arrangements: that traffic between the providers be roughly in balance, Young wrote.

When traffic loads are not symmetric, Young continued, the provider with the heavier load typically pays the other for transit This isn't a story about Netflix, or about Verizon letting anybody's traffic deteriorate. This is a fairly boring story about a bandwidth provider that is unhappy that they are out of balance and will have to make alternative arrangements for capacity enhancements, just like any other interconnecting ISP.

Verizon, he added, offers cloud and hosting services to interconnecting providers that send out more traffic than they receive from Verizon?s networks. These solutions are available today to Cogent, Netflix and any other content or network service provider with similar traffic profiles, Young added.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

At the very least it shows the ISP's are far more concerned about their money than your service and perfectly willing to allow customers to suffer the consequences.



Read more:

http://www.multichannel.com/distribu...ng-spat/144025

http://gigaom.com/2013/06/20/verizon...cogents-fault/

http://gigaom.com/2013/06/17/having-...blame-verizon/

Last edited by kimony; 06-24-2013 at 06:54 PM.
Ensign
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 27
# 249
06-24-2013, 07:55 PM
sounds like corruption within both perfect world and the other two. perfect world won't say anything about the design flaw and this now. they know the game is up, how many times the game shuts down or internet line can't work, it gets worse every year, I feel the game makers of star trek online rushed the game, and not tested it right,
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 50
# 250
06-25-2013, 02:07 PM
I'm having the same rubber-banding and disconnecting problems as everyone else here it seems. So far I tried downloading the entire game again, but the problem remains. Is there any home for us or should I take a month long break?
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 AM.