Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 CPU usage 99%
01-21-2010, 07:43 AM
I haven't had this problem for a while until today, It was going fine then suddenly everything just stops. I called up the windows task manager and my CPU usage is flicking between 99% and 100%. I managed to close the game and the CPU usage goes back to 2%.
I have an AMD Athlon LE-1640, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.6GHz Processor.
Is this processor ok? Is this the problem or is it game related as it is working most of the time then suddenly everything stops.

Thanx for your help
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-21-2010, 07:44 AM
It is a single core proc, and tbh it's fairly low rated. It's NOT a chip for gaming on. FOr a few $'s more, you can get a low end core2duo which would enjoy this game

The game is designed to run efficiently on dual core proc's or above.


In regards to your last question, it may indeed run the game, but theres no guarantee's as you found out. It could be given a certain task to do, by the game, then just sit there saying nope. I can't do that.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-21-2010, 07:51 AM
Cool thanx, I've been looking for a reason to upgrade :p
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-21-2010, 07:55 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebony951 View Post
Cool thanx, I've been looking for a reason to upgrade :p
http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s....html?MBB-634G


http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...html?MBB-3454G



are two very good and very well priced bundles
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-21-2010, 10:52 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebony951 View Post
Cool thanx, I've been looking for a reason to upgrade :p
why not check out your mother board to see if you can up grade the CPU (50-60 hate UK prices / $50-$54)

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/145586

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/128510

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103279

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103772

Both OEM (so HSF needed)



"The recommended system specifications are:

* OS: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista / Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit)
* CPU: Intel E8400 Core 2 Duo or AMD Athlon X2 5600+
* Memory: 2GB RAM+
* Video: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 / ATI Radeon HD 3850+
* Sound: DirectX 9.0c Compatible Soundcard
* DirectX: Version 9.0c or Higher
* HDD: 10GB Free Disk Space
* Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required
* Disc: 6X DVD-ROM"
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-21-2010, 10:57 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q_ELDER_ROGUE_UK
why not check out your mother board to see if you can up grade the CPU (50-60 hate UK prices / $50-$54)

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/145586

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/128510

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103279

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103772

Both OEM (so HSF needed)



"The recommended system specifications are:

* OS: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista / Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit)
* CPU: Intel E8400 Core 2 Duo or AMD Athlon X2 5600+
* Memory: 2GB RAM+
* Video: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 / ATI Radeon HD 3850+
* Sound: DirectX 9.0c Compatible Soundcard
* DirectX: Version 9.0c or Higher
* HDD: 10GB Free Disk Space
* Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required
* Disc: 6X DVD-ROM"

If the OP has an old proc like he says he does, it's very likely he has an old "out of date"mobo and ram to go along with it. They may as well buy a very cheap mid range bundle that would be perfectly fine
for the next 2 years or so.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-21-2010, 12:42 PM
I have a up to date core2duo 2.6Ghz 6MB cache and I too witness periods of non-stop 99% cpu load on the ground, so it has to be something, not just the OP's processor that is unsuitable.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-21-2010, 01:04 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedgp123 View Post

If the OP has an old proc like he says he does, it's very likely he has an old "out of date"mobo and ram to go along with it. They may as well buy a very cheap mid range bundle that would be perfectly fine
for the next 2 years or so.
Just pointing out a cheaper option 50-60 vs 150+
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-21-2010, 01:10 PM
/maxfps 30
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
01-21-2010, 01:27 PM
What video card are you running, I had the stock card and it was locking up at 100%cpu so I got meself 9500 and now running great
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:25 AM.