Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Issue with ground combat
01-21-2010, 08:19 AM
The issue I have with ground combat is that it becomes very laggy and choppy. Its happening more often than not, star trek will error out and I need to send crypic a error report including what I was doing. Which I have several times. I have no issues with my machine, I have ran extensive diagnostics with no issues.

I believe the problem might be 1 of 2 possible issues. Graphics card driver or beta bugs. Just curious if anyone has some input for me. I can reproduce the issue when I beam down to starbase 24 every single time and its frustrating. I have done other ground missions some I complete and some have to same issue, but starbase 24 is consistant.

My Computer specs

Phenom II 955 Quad Core 3.2Ghz
ASUS Crosshair III with latest bios 1301
4GB of patriot memory DDR3 1333 9-9-9-24 (tested both memtest and prime95 over 24 hours)
ASUS EAH4890 latest drivers from ATI Version 9.12 updated 12/17/09 (tested with 3Dmark in continuous loop for 24 hours) I was not running the latest version, after I updated to this, same exact result.
2 320gb hdd seagate sata 3.0 in raid 0 (tested with spinrite)

Temps are all well below threshold (CPU/Northbridge/graphics card)

Edit: Running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit fully updated.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-21-2010, 09:02 AM
bump

Am I the only one experiencing this issue with ground combat causing the game to error out?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-21-2010, 09:43 AM
No seen plenty of other posts with ATI cards. I turn it down to half resolution and normally it works as long as there is not tons of combat happening. Been happening for awhile. Hope this is fixed before release because ground combat is stopping me completing the missions.

I got past 24 already but just flew by it again and tried it once more and didnt get anywhere near past the first corridor.

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_rtm.090713-1255)
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 Processor (4 CPUs), ~3.4GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 8192MB RAM
Page File: 1433MB used, 14947MB available

Card name: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
Chip type: ATI display adapter (0x68B8)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_68B8&SUBSYS_25431002&REV_00
Display Memory: 4079 MB
Dedicated Memory: 1012 MB
Shared Memory: 3067 MB
Current Mode: 1280 x 1024 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic Non-PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: unknown
Monitor Id:
Native Mode: unknown
Output Type: HD15
Monitor Name: Dell SE197FP
Monitor Model: DELL SE197FP
Monitor Id: DELF002
Native Mode: 1280 x 1024(p) (60.020Hz)
Output Type: HD15
Driver Name: atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,at idxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll
Driver File Version: 8.14.0010.0716 (English)
Driver Version: 8.681.0.0
DDI Version: 10.1
Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 11/25/2009 02:50:14, 4683776 bytes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-21-2010, 10:09 AM
Got the same problem and ati card.
it's usually at the start of a fight it gets choppy and if you are unlucky, it crashes.
It usually works fine when you log in again and continue the mission but it's freaking annoying tho.

Spec
Intel Core2 Quad 2.66ghz
6gig ram
Ati Radeon HD 4800 series 1024mb with latest drivers.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:35 AM.