Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 51
01-22-2010, 03:09 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ICRageman
My cpu AMD 6400 + with core temp was going 80 c the 2 core's .
My cpu aint that great no more still dont get how that game can stress my system like that i have no probs running crysis all max video setting .
I am shure it is the last patch that hase some thing to do with it .
80*c is prity hot for a CPU for a graphics card that temp would be ok but tbh for a CPU you dont rearlly want it to be going over about 70*c
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 52
01-22-2010, 03:32 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gardein View Post
My ATI Radeon 5770 HD rig was getting very warm as well. Not even with everything maxed (I dropped the dynamic lighting back a hair). I know the stock heatsink stinks on my retail card. But that isn't the issue. I could replace it but STO is the ONLY game in which I see this heating issue. While I appreciate the hardware tips, getting this game to run stable for the average user with stock hardware is the goal here.

The issue I found was that STO was constantly pushing the frame rate as fast as it possibly could. No reason for that in a game like this. Why would I need 146 frames per second?!? It both heats the card and makes random errors more likely. It could be crappy ATI drivers. It could be the game code. I really don't know yet. Bottom line is that setting the /maxfps to a reasonable level has made the game very stable for me with no noticeable loss of video quality and could save many posts here.

Is there a way to load the /maxfps statement into a config file or the game shortcut so I do not have to manually enter it every time I start the client? Or perhaps this will be addressed with a patch. It should be.

Having great fun with the game btw.
Hi there I thought I should repost this solution which was elsewhere in one of these threads...

To reduce the heat of your GPU enter the following code into the launcher under options before you enter the game
/perFrameSleep 10
There is a small box where you can enter code in there. I have never done anything like this and I am not a 'tech' and I found it in under 3 minutes. I have a 4850 (which run hot anyways) and doing this makes the fans return to a near whisper and my GPU temp is doen 10 degrees. An improvement for me!

Hope it helps you as it did me cheers!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 53
01-22-2010, 03:45 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freeman_Dyson
Is this stuff safe to dust off my computer? It is called Air Duster by Memorex. I read reviews for it here.


http://reviews.canadiantire.ca/9045/...8P/reviews.htm

says it is good for cleaninng computers. but the can says contact with liquid can freeze skin and is flammable. is this stuff really safe to spray inside my pc?
Should be fine i use that kind of stuff all the time oto clean my PC
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 54
01-22-2010, 03:47 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by REDEN
Should be fine i use that kind of stuff all the time oto clean my PC
Agreed. What they are referring to is the propellant used to push the air out. As long as you ensure that the can is upright when sprayed you should have no issues.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 55
01-23-2010, 12:23 AM
my ATI Radeon HD 3870 X2 in my DELL XPS
runs idle at 50C with game running im at 59C...

"Newer" cards may get 10 degrees hotter or so..but then, if you are above that, you have insufficient cooling of some sort.

- Airflow in your system is bad

- Your box is not designed to cater a gaming card (i.e. you upgraded it yourself, or the one who built the computer was clueless when it comes to cooling;imagine, the bigger suppliers have teams working on how the internal parts of a computer have to be built in for good airflow; your small local storage or friend may just have "experience".).

- Your fans are bad or got bad (dust, failure etc.) => Clean it ;-)
- Your GFX is overclocked (by yourself)
- Your GFX card came with an insufficient cooler => Return to your vendor
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 56
01-23-2010, 03:41 AM
I did the max framerates thing in the launcher and it dropped my temps almost 15C degrees. For me the magic setting is -maxfps 45...more and the temp goes up, less and there is a noticeable stuttering. VSync did nothing, but that may just be me.

Don't tell me that my video card or system was dirty. It is new. This and Champions are the ONLY games that do this temp spike deal. I play freaking Crysis maxed @ 65C and bloody every other game is under 65C, so why is this running @ 75C or more?.

Also the longer I am on the loading screens the worse it gets. So if I am loading for a long period of time my temps get really bad. The loading screens prior to this were over 1000FPS for me!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 57
01-23-2010, 03:43 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by JToney3449 View Post
hate to tell some of you guys but if most of our rigs are only dieing on this game then guess what, it aint our cooling. Clean out my case is the best they can say? really?

No game i have ever played has made my 8800gtx go to the temps it has in STO, the /maxfps cap helped but now after todays patch after protracted periods it will overheat again aka like 4 hours of game time.

Ive built my own pc's for over 8 years now, i have 0 cooling issues with this case, card, ram and proccessor, till now. They need to fix this issue before the game goes live you cant simply say oh its our fault for X reason or for XX reason.

And no GPUs are not meant to run at 100% for the entire length of a game, they are ment to be able to go up to 100% to handle sudden graphic intense times then back to a stable temp. If a car runs in the red line for to long guess what it blows the motor no diff with this.

Im not even running 100% settings just nice decent settings as the game looks great without having to go to max that says something. And anyone who says we that are having this issue are just lazy criers with bad cooling.... think what itd be like to have this issue in only 1 game ever with nothing else coming close to these temps.
I have an Nvidia 8800gtx quad core q6600 4 gig ram (all factory standard settings) all in a Tsunami thermal take case
I like a clean case (being an IT engineer and dealing with dirty PC's most of the time) so no fluff in mine

The 1st thing I noticed with STO was at the character creation screen, I was just reading the text on which
officer type to choose when I noticed the Graphics fan sound pitch getting higher and higher and higher
GPU under load and the fan speed automatically adjusted
I wasn't even playing the game (oh and no sound too so I got to trawl around for that fix too)

So yes for some players who are not familair with PC maintenance make sure the basics are covered
like pulling out fluff from your fans and heatsinks (especially if you have a tumble dryer in the house
other than that it is a SOFTWARE ISSUE - Devs please take note

I was not playing the game just ideling in character creation and my GPU fan is winding up for take off
When I did get into game even turning DOWN all the settings to their lowest point my GPU fan was still
screaming at me

I play CS:Source, L4D 1 & 2, Mass Effect and I have not suffered from a loud GPU fan on any of these games and they are graphic intensive too

With everyone having different rig hardware setups why dont DEVS create a poll (for starters)
or ask steam if they can create a STO poll or census for all us players to take our hardware stats
with a tick to say 'Yes I am suffering GPU heating issues' or 'No not me'

that will show the problem straight away

but what do I know I've only been troubleshooting technical issues for 25 years
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 58
01-23-2010, 04:31 AM
I dont even know why Cryptic is bothering with this issue.

Its an OEM/Manufacturer/User issue. If you computer is overheating then it does not have adequate cooling. That is hardly Cryptics fault.

Is it possible the code could be more optimized to utilize less GPU/CPU, probably. But should they be worrying about computers overheating? Nope.

I run software that is INTENDED to make my CPU and GPU as hot as possible to test overclocking stability. Under stock clocks I have yet to see it crash a computer except on faulty hardware or poorly designed cooling solutions.

Amazing that someone who has been troubleshooting computers for 25 years would make such a claim.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 59
01-23-2010, 05:40 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Prophet- View Post
I dont even know why Cryptic is bothering with this issue.

Its an OEM/Manufacturer/User issue. If you computer is overheating then it does not have adequate cooling. That is hardly Cryptics fault.

Is it possible the code could be more optimized to utilize less GPU/CPU, probably. But should they be worrying about computers overheating? Nope.

I run software that is INTENDED to make my CPU and GPU as hot as possible to test overclocking stability. Under stock clocks I have yet to see it crash a computer except on faulty hardware or poorly designed cooling solutions.

Amazing that someone who has been troubleshooting computers for 25 years would make such a claim.
Real nice positive contribution by putting some else down thanks and what claim did I make that got you so riled up ?
Don't put words in my mouth sonny, 'troubleshooting technical issues for 25 years'
not just computers and if you cant make a positive contribution to an issue stop being part of the problem and keep quite, appreciate it

the point you don't get is I like to make my hardware last, you run software ? for job or personal use ?

for job your reasoning is irrelivent, personal use its your choice not mine thus again your reason has no point here
but you do make the point clear that you agree with me by saying (indirectly) that STO does stress out GPU's since the last update

the more load or pressure something is put under the more stress it suffers reducing its overall life time

are you in the position to freely spend out on new and better equipment as and when it comes out ?
maybe but I choose not to play that game

and yes you seem to have missed the point about the other games I play L4D1&2, CS:S, mass effect
aswell other MMORPG's they don't stress my rig out anywhere near like STO does

YET AGAIN you missed the point that
1) only certain players are suffering this issue
2) it seems to have occured AFTER the patch - apparently
my friend also playing STO has an ATI card yet he doesn't suffer this problem
but there are other ATI users out there who are suffering this problem as well as Nvidia

DEVS:
I found that if I go to windowed mode with a setting of 1024x768 60Hz my GPU load does reduce somewhat
obviously because its not generating a full screen
my desktop settings are 1600 x 1200
even when Full screen and graphics set low and resolution at 1024x768 60hz
GPU load is still high

my main concern for this GPU loading and NOT overheating is that my other half would really like to purchase
this game but has the same hardware setup as myself and is waiting to see what happens

its a pity you have to pre-order the game before you can try out the beta otherwise a lot more people
would be trying it out right now i.e I mean a time limited demo would be great

Otherwise STO is a stonkingly great game

-----------
Further testing reveals that when STO logged me out after 15mins inactivity and I then change my graphic
options to full screen 1600x1200 (4:3)
My GPU load increases to the point the fan is maxing out again

This time I am just at the log on screen no graphics are being drawn just a nice blue effect screen
with username and password logon window

with no graphics being drawn at log on screen (after auto log off) STO software is still loading the GPU ?
for what ? grid computing...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 60
01-23-2010, 07:51 AM
Hi,

I just want to add my stats to the list. I'm overheating between 50-60 c and I've opend my case to check for dust. There is dust so I will clean it Later on(no time atm^^). The heat comes of the video card.

my specs:

Manufacturer: Acer
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.3GHz
Memory: 4094MB RAM
Hard Drive: 624 GB Total
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 3850
Monitor: LG M2094D-PZ 20 inch TFT - 1680 x 1050
Sound Card: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Speakers/Headphones: Monitor + Creative Fatal1ty gaming headset
Keyboard: g15 orange LED
Mouse: USB
Mouse Surface: Normal
Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium 64-bit
Motherboard: Intel 850 Chipset

Again, I'm gonna clean the dust away and try again. Dont know if this will fix the problem since it appears to be kinda random. but I was in a sector with some mining stations. arround these station was some dust so maybe my video card is crappy?

any responds would be nice. have fun ingame!
Greets,

B.B.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:16 PM.