Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I recently purchased a new graphics card for playing STO. It's an XFX ATI Radeon HD 5850.

I un-installed the drivers for my previous graphics card and removed it. I then inserted the new ATI card and installed the latest Catalyst drivers, v9.12.

All seems to run fine in Windows etc, and STO runs fine after the recent patch that enabled Anti-Aliasing on the ATI cards. But, there appears to be some sort of weird polygon type flickering all over the place. It happens in space and on the ground.

It's proven hard to get a screenshot of, but I have managed to get a couple:
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2772/...34167cdd_b.jpg
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4064/...9900faf7_b.jpg

The screenshots don't really do it justice, it's flickering all over the place. It seems to be more noticeable in space.

Does anyone know what this is? Or how I might cure it?

I'm running Windows 7 64-bit. All drivers up to date.

Cheers
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-22-2010, 07:45 AM
No one else has seen this problem?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-22-2010, 07:47 AM
That my friend is artifacting.

There are two ways to stop this. Eitehr throw a good aftermarket cooler on yoru card, or force enable vsync in your card graphics settings.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-23-2010, 01:11 AM
Managed to get a few more screenshots:
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4059/...20955f85_b.jpg
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4064/...91bae2c8_b.jpg
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2750/...60a997e8_b.jpg


Artifacting eh? Why does that occur?

Every time I buy an ATI card I ALWAYS have problems
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-23-2010, 03:17 AM
artifacting is almost always caused by overheating although poor programing can lead to similar effects

problem with ATI and CCC is the fan speeds tend to be locked, CCC is supposed to auto controll fan speed but from what ive been able to find out its not worked for quite some time.

you will either need to unlock overdrive in CCC and manual manage your fan speeds, if its on 50% now as i suspect you may need to up it to 55/60% you should also investigate weather your case is getting enough cool air and that the fans are all clean
or you could use a third party tool to auto manage fan speeds such as atitray tools (not sure thats been updated for your card) or rivatuner
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-23-2010, 03:38 AM
I tried forcing VSync via CCC and enabled "Montor vertical sync" in the STO video options.
I still have these artifacts flickering all over the place

Why do I keep buying ATI's!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-23-2010, 03:39 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamondillium
artifacting is almost always caused by overheating although poor programing can lead to similar effects

problem with ATI and CCC is the fan speeds tend to be locked, CCC is supposed to auto controll fan speed but from what ive been able to find out its not worked for quite some time.

you will either need to unlock overdrive in CCC and manual manage your fan speeds, if its on 50% now as i suspect you may need to up it to 55/60% you should also investigate weather your case is getting enough cool air and that the fans are all clean
or you could use a third party tool to auto manage fan speeds such as atitray tools (not sure thats been updated for your card) or rivatuner
I was overclocking my CPU until I installed the new ATI card.

I was running my 2.4Ghz Dual Core at 3.2Ghz.
Had to drop that to 3.0Ghz since the PC kept crashing entirely.

I have sufficient cooling I think.
Could the CPU overclock be causing this at all?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-23-2010, 03:40 AM
Quick question, does your PSU have enough power output to power everything you are running?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-23-2010, 03:43 AM
dont force vsync in CCC, last i checked STO is overriding any settings set in CCC, you will also get best performance if all the settings possible in CCC (or nvidias equivilent) are set to application controlled. ive found this to be so for all games not just STO

try going to video settgings ingame and enabling sync to monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by MADMAN69UK View Post
.

I have sufficient cooling I think.
Could the CPU overclock be causing this at all?
yes its possbile, if your overclocking the first thing you should try is setting the card back to stock speeds. the memory on GPU cards usualy only has a heatsink and isnt cooled by the fan(s) try setting the memory to stock first you may just get away with it
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
01-23-2010, 03:55 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamondillium
dont force vsync in CCC, last i checked STO is overriding any settings set in CCC, you will also get best performance if all the settings possible in CCC (or nvidias equivilent) are set to application controlled. ive found this to be so for all games not just STO

try going to video settgings ingame and enabling sync to monitor


yes its possbile, if your overclocking the first thing you should try is setting the card back to stock speeds. the memory on GPU cards usualy only has a heatsink and isnt cooled by the fan(s) try setting the memory to stock first you may just get away with it
CCC panel overrides STO settings. trust me on that. I;ve done it with 3 ATI cards.

OP, can you download http://www.cpuid.com/hwmonitor.php and leave it runnign when you play STO. Once you start to get these errors, check the temps of your graphics card and post them here.
(For reference, my card barely goes over 60 degrees with stock cooling, and an overclock.)


Also download http://www.almico.com/speedfan440.exe
In this prog on the first tab, look down at the bottom, and where it says "+12v", let me know what the voltage is next to it.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:52 PM.