Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 481
02-17-2010, 04:01 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderanger
I just asked on IRC and there should be a program called "winebrowser" that does this.
Winebrowser is getting badly formatted URLs and failing when I click a link on the login/patcher page...

Quote:
err:winebrowser:get_url_from_dde Unable to retrieve URL from string L"\""
err:winebrowser:wmain Usage: winebrowser URL
thats all I get right now when I click a URL.... still seeing how it works.

If I do it manually from command line, winebrowser only works if you give it a full url, "http://www.startrekonline.com" if you leave off the http:// it fails.... it just seems to not understand the links.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 482
02-17-2010, 04:07 PM
Odd, can you dump the full command line getting run? Might be a quoting issue between cmd.exe and wine.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 483
02-17-2010, 04:12 PM
As a Mac user playing STO via Bootcamp ... who is very happy to play WoW and City of Heroes in OSX ... I heartily endorse this effort to bring STO to the Mac Side.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 484
02-17-2010, 04:33 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red.Line View Post
As a Mac user playing STO via Bootcamp ... who is very happy to play WoW and City of Heroes in OSX ... I heartily endorse this effort to bring STO to the Mac Side.
Not only Mac Side, but THE Bright Side. :p
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 485 Amazing!
02-17-2010, 04:43 PM
I downloaded and moved a copy of STO into it...... It worked without a hitch. It's a bit slower than bootcamp but it works.

Amazing. Fantastic. Could you do the same for other games?

Another amazing thing is that you did this on your own in just a few days without Cryptic Tech support and their own Devs can't even make a decent camera after years of mucking about.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 486
02-17-2010, 07:19 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderanger
Odd, can you dump the full command line getting run? Might be a quoting issue between cmd.exe and wine.
I will... I'll have to look through the Wine debug channels and figure out which one to turn on that will give the full info.

EDIT: looks like there is a winebrowser debug channel on its own... so I'll turn it on and try the links again.

EDIT2:

ok.... I've played with all the debug channels and messages... this following is the only thing I've found useful.

Quote:
trace:winebrowser:ddeCb dde_cb: 1062, 0000, 0x0, 0xc001, 0xc000, 0x0, 0034f758, 00000000
trace:winebrowser:ddeCb dde_cb: 8072, 0000, 0x1179e0, 0xc001, 0xc000, 0x0, 0034f758, 00000000
warn:ntdll:NtQueryAttributesFile L"\\??\\C:\\Program Files\\Cryptic Studios\\http:\\www.startrekonline.com\\claim_budd y_key" not found (c000003a)
warn:ntdll:NtQueryAttributesFile L"\\??\\C:\\Program Files\\Cryptic Studios\\http:\\www.startrekonline.com\\claim_budd y_key" not found (c000003a)
warn:ntdll:NtQueryAttributesFile L"\\??\\C:\\windows\\system32\\http:\\www.startrek online.com\\claim_buddy_key" not found (c000003a)
warn:ntdll:NtQueryAttributesFile L"\\??\\C:\\windows\\system\\http:\\www.startrekon line.com\\claim_buddy_key" not found (c000003a)
warn:ntdll:NtQueryAttributesFile L"\\??\\C:\\windows\\http:\\www.startrekonline.com \\claim_buddy_key" not found (c000003a)
warn:ntdll:NtQueryAttributesFile L"\\??\\C:\\windows\\system32\\http:\\www.startrek online.com\\claim_buddy_key" not found (c000003a)
warn:ntdll:NtQueryAttributesFile L"\\??\\C:\\windows\\http:\\www.startrekonline.com \\claim_buddy_key" not found (c000003a)
trace:winebrowser:ddeCb dde_cb: 4050, 0000, 0x1179e0, 0xc001, 0x0, 0x1397f2, 00000000, 00000000
err:winebrowser:get_url_from_dde Unable to retrieve URL from string L"\""
err:winebrowser:wmain Usage: winebrowser URL
you can tell from the URLs you do see that I clicked through the top URLs and the buddy key claim one thats up right now.

I have no idea why it has the windows\\system32 in front... other than system32 is where winebrowser.exe is.... but it still looks fishy. I might try asking on the Wine forums, this isn't something I've really messed with very much.

EDIT: this is just the last part of when I clicked the buddy link by the way...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 487
02-17-2010, 07:45 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by JILogan View Post
I downloaded and moved a copy of STO into it...... It worked without a hitch. It's a bit slower than bootcamp but it works.

Amazing. Fantastic. Could you do the same for other games?

Another amazing thing is that you did this on your own in just a few days without Cryptic Tech support and their own Devs can't even make a decent camera after years of mucking about.
of course...

I have a list on the wineskin homepage (http://wineskin.sourceforge.net) that I know exist that used Wineskin.... There are also hacks of Crossover and Cider used for many games too, but I prefer using normal Wine to keep it legal. There are hundreds of Windows games that have wrappers floating around the web for them to run them in one of these ways. If you looking for a Mac gaming community that is basically all about running Windows games on macs without Windows, take a look at the forums at http://portingteam.com
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 488
02-17-2010, 07:47 PM
question here. if wine skin is based on wine. thatis game theoretically could be run on linux through wine also right? if so i may have to try this on my linux box running ubuntu
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 489
02-17-2010, 07:58 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by hobieone
question here. if wine skin is based on wine. thatis game theoretically could be run on linux through wine also right? if so i may have to try this on my linux box running ubuntu
yes, the game runs fine on Linux with Wine... Wine 1.1.37 and 1.1.38 are reported to run it just fine on Linux. i use standard Wine builds in Wineskin by default... and my new test version of STO is using a stock 1.1.38 (the current one I have up here is not running stock, cuz I made it before stock Wine could run it... but the guys at codeweavers are great on getting patches and fixes and making Wine great for gaming.)

it should run a lot better on Linux than it does on OSX... cuz Linux distros use X11 as their default windowing system, you aren't stuck with having to use Xquartz like I have to on Macs.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 490
02-17-2010, 08:36 PM
My Macbook Pro is a 1920x1200 resolution and I'd like to run it in a lower resolution to increase framerate. For some reason the wrapper does not offer me any widescreen resolutions (just the 4:3 ones and my default desktop resolution). Any thoughts on how I could get 1440x900 or 1680x1050 as an option?
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:14 AM.