Lieutenant
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 51
Computer was working perfectly

Decide to play some STO, Installed latest patch, installed very fast(a welcome change) with no problems

Logged into game and there the problems began...

Loading took several minutes longer than normal-HDD running non stop

Loaded Romulan character-HDD light doesn't go off

Map load took about ten minutes

Frame rate 1 frame per minute-HDD light still on

Tried to exit game because I thought something must be running in the background,took 5 minutes for exit menu to come up-HDD light still on

Clicked exit, another 5 minutes for confirm dialogue to come up,confirmed exit

Takes another 5 minutes to exit-HDD light still on

Checked task manager, takes 5 minutes for task manager to come up-HDD still running.

Nothing unusual running in background-HDD light still on

Run virus and malware scan, computer running very slowly but no problems-HDD light still on.

Reboot comp-everything back to normal, HDD light off

What was in that patch?
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 51
# 2
06-28-2013, 08:21 PM
Finally gathered my wits and tried the play STO again.

Rebooted computer, then logged in

Exact same thing happened as before.

I think it's a curse or a poltergeist

LOL
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 168
# 3
06-28-2013, 08:29 PM
don't be to sure on that, my laptop fried its hdd after one of the many 135MB patches after the launch of LOR
Still waiting for it to be repaired.....
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 47
# 4
06-29-2013, 07:24 AM
I ran into similar problems recently. I think it was after the expansion that loading into New Romulus would take minutes (once took me 15 minutes). Needless to say, I try to avoid that place nowadays. Oh, it used to be pefectly fine since I went there daily for epohh tagging and I reached tier 5 in the reputation.

Yesterday, however, I had the same thing happen while loading DS9 even though I had never experienced abnormal loading times there before (and I go there multiple times every day). I closed the game, and I attempted to load on that character later. I let it about 10 minutes while I went to the shop and came back to find it still loading. The weird thing is that I Alt-tabbed, came back to the game and find that not only the map had loaded, but I even got the idle message for being away for too long. That's pretty weird.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:16 PM.