Commander
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 343
# 1 System Requirement tool
06-25-2013, 07:41 PM
Cryptic, could you please make a tool that says in any capasity if you can play STO on your system or not? Thanks.
STO community: please rate or comment on this idea.
this is not a flame, if you consider it a flame, i apologize. it is not meant as such.

LLAP, everyone.
Commander
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 343
# 2
06-25-2013, 07:44 PM
In continuation, a list is nice, but it can be confusing if you have a different piece of hardware than the list, is it good enough?
this is not a flame, if you consider it a flame, i apologize. it is not meant as such.

LLAP, everyone.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,763
# 3
06-25-2013, 07:47 PM
They post the system requirements in the FAQ. Check the reqs and compare with your hardware (you should know what your system has - and if it's a stock store bought system that info should be available from your manufacturer's website.

Secondly, the game is now F2P - and the actual client itself costs nothing but download time/ a few GBs (if you're on a metered connection.)

Thus, the easiest way to test if your system can run it is to download and install it; start it up; and see what happens.
Formerly known as Armsman from June 2008 to June 20, 2012 http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=91861979000&dateline=  1340755546
PWE Drone says, "Your STO community as you have known it is ended...Display names are irrelevant...Any further sense of community is irrelevant...Resistance is futile...You will be assimilated..."
Commander
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 343
# 4
06-25-2013, 07:50 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by crypticarmsman View Post
They post the system requirements in the FAQ. Check the reqs and compare with your hardware (you should know what your system has - and if it's a stock store bought system that info should be available from your manufacturer's website.

Secondly, the game is now F2P - and the actual client itself costs nothing but download time/ a few GBs (if you're on a metered connection.)

Thus, the easiest way to test if your system can run it is to download and install it; start it up; and see what happens.
i hear ya, but non- factory stsndard parts cause probs. also, what if you don't know a part and don't know how to find it?
BTW i actually do know how to do this.
this is not a flame, if you consider it a flame, i apologize. it is not meant as such.

LLAP, everyone.
Republic Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 345
# 5
06-25-2013, 11:31 PM
Here you go, a solution to your problem. Just type "Star Trek Online" in, and it will detect your computer's specs, and compare it to the game requirements.

http://www.systemrequirementslab.com...line/10928?p=a
Original Join Date: January 2010
Original Name: -Gen-Alaris
Days Subscribed: 1211 (As of May 26, 2013)
Captain
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 683
# 6
06-26-2013, 12:48 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by trekie564 View Post
Cryptic, could you please make a tool that says in any capasity if you can play STO on your system or not? Thanks.
STO community: please rate or comment on this idea.
Just go to http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri and type in the game there, and it will tell you whether your computer will be able to run the game or not.

Either that or google "can you run it".

I use that website all the time. Trust me, it's perfect.

Just as the post above me says.
Commander
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 343
# 7
06-26-2013, 06:40 AM
Thanks everyone! that site is really good. Cryptic, could on the FAQ/Download page of the site, post the link in the posts above me and describe how the tool works?
this is not a flame, if you consider it a flame, i apologize. it is not meant as such.

LLAP, everyone.
Commander
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 343
# 8
06-28-2013, 06:47 AM
Does anyone else have an opinion or site to share?
this is not a flame, if you consider it a flame, i apologize. it is not meant as such.

LLAP, everyone.
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 96
# 9
06-28-2013, 08:05 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by trekie564 View Post
Thanks everyone! that site is really good. Cryptic, could on the FAQ/Download page of the site, post the link in the posts above me and describe how the tool works?
That would require Cryptic is support another company's product. Never going to happen. They don't have a FAQ for installing Adobe PDF either.

I'm confused, you said you knew how to check these things, but you still seem confused.

Here's an easy test- Is your computer less than 3 years old? Then it can run STO.


protip - generally, if a question can be asked in a sentence form, Google will have the answers. Literally the first hit from the search "can I run STO on my computer" links to the site referenced above.
Commander
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 343
# 10
06-30-2013, 05:14 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by insanesenator View Post
...I'm confused, you said you knew how to check these things, but you still seem confused...
I do know how. i just want to make this easier for people who aren't as computer literate as some others. i just seemed like a good idea.
this is not a flame, if you consider it a flame, i apologize. it is not meant as such.

LLAP, everyone.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:12 AM.