Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 647
# 531
08-12-2013, 08:48 AM
If you want to be really really specific, the launcher isn't even needed to access the game.

I've bypassed it on occassion simply by using GameClient.exe.
That is, if the client is fully updated and current.

But I think the launcher is required to patch the game.
Someone with more knowledge on that topic should be consulted, since I don't know much about patching.
Captain
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 607
# 532
08-12-2013, 09:57 AM
50 something pages.....

and I don't see anything about what benefit or service this "what ever it actually is" is supposed to provide.

For me the simple fact that PWE promotes well known internet scams as a way to earn free Zen means that I do not want anything from PWE on my computer
Career Officer
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 244
# 533
08-13-2013, 05:52 AM
Really getting irritated here... the little "fix" isn't working my stuff never maximizes or even gives the option to maximize. They ar SLOW about fixing the problem...on purpose? Perhaps, but I still refuse to download ARC just to find out.
Ensign
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
# 534
08-14-2013, 08:46 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixionveridian View Post
For those who do not know...

I downloaded and installed Arc a while ago and found this out.

If you start a game through Arc, you cannot close the program while that game is running.
I bit the bullet and tried the ARC crap. What he said is true. You cannot disable ARC when running one of its games.

Additionally, closing the game down does not turn off ARC. You have to go to your system tray, right click the ARC icon, and manually choose to exit the process. Otherwise, it keeps running in the background even after you've exited the associated game.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 43
# 535
08-15-2013, 03:56 AM
What about closing it directly from the Task Manager? Shutting down the main arc process?
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
# 536
08-15-2013, 07:39 AM
More steam like junk that gets used for one game and wastes hard drive/memory on my PC and at least steam can be closed.

Last edited by radavvadra; 08-15-2013 at 07:44 AM.
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 267
# 537
08-15-2013, 08:24 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by maddriver View Post
What about closing it directly from the Task Manager? Shutting down the main arc process?
I suppose the other option is locking Arc away behind every firewall you can find.
Ensign
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
# 538
08-15-2013, 05:32 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by purvee1 View Post
I suppose the other option is locking Arc away behind every firewall you can find.
My solution was simpler: I've now walked away from Cryptic games. No more Zen purchases from me.
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 267
# 539
08-15-2013, 08:54 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kieronblack View Post
My solution was simpler: I've now walked away from Cryptic games. No more Zen purchases from me.
I'm lucky in that regard. I can only buy Zen with Euro's and that's about 400% more hassle to me than its worth.
Plus with arc looming I'm reluctant to put any more cash into the game.
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 30
# 540
08-16-2013, 02:58 AM
As a previous poster stated just make a shortcut for the STO exe to put on your desktop and bypass ARC completely...

All you have to do is enter your password each time but better than loading up ARC..
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:25 PM.