Captain
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3,798
Cryptic...

There are many issues with both of these skills.

I am asking you to please change the way they work.

Please ADD a MES effect to them.

As it is now many people complain there computer systems fail to render the effect of the gas at all... or with extreme latency.

If you where to add a MES effect to the gas just as you have added it to mines... this would level the playing field on it... it would also make it a more tactical battle solution in the way MES have increased the effective value of mines... while also reducing the shear amount of spam on our screens.

As far as the GFX perhaps there is something you guys can tweak to improve the situation... or perhaps just adding the MES value to the gas would reduce the overhead on the Graphics subsystem and solve much of the issue.

Thanks.
When the messenger comes to appropriate your profits ... kill the messenger.
Commander
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 486
# 2
08-10-2013, 07:37 AM
This game's engine simply needs a complete overhaul. I've yet to see a high-end pc sustain a 60+ fps on high settings, in fact even on those it drops to a mere 30 in alot of situations.


- Engine is outdated and cannot handle all the junk thats been released over the years.
- This game's UI is a killer for FPS, no idea why but with every buff they add to this game another part of a script (yes they used script based stuff to draw each individual element in the UI per frame) slows down and bottlenecks the actual 3D rendering. Try turning off the whole UI with a keybind and see the massive FPS improvement, its sad.

- Since LoR somehow. DX11 takes like 30% more cpu resources then before, actually penalizing your game smoothness.

- Cryptic ignores and denies all performance problems and glitches that go with it.


Pretty much this.
Fix the damn problem dont mask it.

Last edited by masterkeychnk5; 08-10-2013 at 07:42 AM.
Captain
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3,798
# 3
08-10-2013, 10:08 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by masterkeychnk5 View Post
Pretty much this.
Fix the damn problem dont mask it.
Oh you dreamer you.

Your right though... the mesed the mines up and things speed up... 6 months later its worse then it was before.
When the messenger comes to appropriate your profits ... kill the messenger.
Captain
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 604
# 4
08-10-2013, 10:35 AM
The graphics engine in this game is feeble at best.
Comedy of it is, I got told by someone not so long back that I needed a better computer to play it.

Um, so a system ready for BF4 isn't good enough?

Intel i5 running@4.1gig (liquid cooled)
16 gig of ram running@2200mhz (9,9,9,16)
Nvidia GTX770 GPU (check the reviews, this thing OC is only 4fps slower than the Titan card).
SSD HDD
2tb 10000rpm 16mb cache HDD
Run it on W7.

So apparently that's not good enough to run a 3-4 year old game.

There you go guys, its not the badly optimised engine at all, its your sucky systems. :p
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 620
# 5
08-10-2013, 11:13 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by masterkeychnk5 View Post
- Engine is outdated and cannot handle all the junk thats been released over the years.
- This game's UI is a killer for FPS, no idea why but with every buff they add to this game another part of a script (yes they used script based stuff to draw each individual element in the UI per frame) slows down and bottlenecks the actual 3D rendering. Try turning off the whole UI with a keybind and see the massive FPS improvement, its sad.
The UI uses more cpu power than the game.Normaly that would never pass beta testing...its not acceptable.
The game cant render 2-3 theta clouds so they get invisible.I dont know what would happen if in a 10v10 everyone would use theta ,ewp ,grav wells and faw.

Quote:
Originally Posted by masterkeychnk5 View Post
- Since LoR somehow. DX11 takes like 30% more cpu resources then before, actually penalizing your game smoothness.
i can understand that.The game was released in dx9 and I dont think there are many mmos that turned their dx9 game in dx11 over night fully working.

Quote:
Originally Posted by seansamurai1 View Post
....

the game is 32bit.It will never use that much memory.
Captain
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 604
# 6
08-10-2013, 11:16 AM
I actually genuinely think this is why so many teams use so much cheese in matches, knowing full well most of it isn't rendered. Instant advantage.

To the above, which just shows how weak the graphics engine is in STO.
Commander
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 486
# 7
08-10-2013, 01:16 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by seansamurai1 View Post
The graphics engine in this game is feeble at best.
Comedy of it is, I got told by someone not so long back that I needed a better computer to play it.

Um, so a system ready for BF4 isn't good enough?

Intel i5 running@4.1gig (liquid cooled)
16 gig of ram running@2200mhz (9,9,9,16)
Nvidia GTX770 GPU (check the reviews, this thing OC is only 4fps slower than the Titan card).
SSD HDD
2tb 10000rpm 16mb cache HDD
Run it on W7.

So apparently that's not good enough to run a 3-4 year old game.

There you go guys, its not the badly optimised engine at all, its your sucky systems. :p
Depends on what you consider as 'enough'

Can you live with 30 fps? Are you one of those that say that can't see the difference between 30 and 60? I'm satisfied with a pretty old game in fact with a High-end overclocked i7 4.5GHz and a 670GTX Nividia you pretty much can attain a steady 60 fps on high settings, especially for a game like this which is nothing compared to newer games.

But its not, the game is massively draining on the CPU, not even the GPU. Mostly my GPU sits below 50% usage where both my cores are fully loaded up to the max.

Unacceptable for a relative simple game like this, they haven't changed or implemented any optimizations since its release, thus even the 'highest-end' PC's cannot fully render this game on Hi settings at a steady 60.



But if you do want to know, like I said, CPU will do the most, but a Quad core wont help. Only performance per core really works magically, thus a newer Dual core overclocked at 4 or 5+GHz is probably going to benefit you more then a standard clocked i7 quad at 2.6 or 3 whatever.


Quote:
Originally Posted by captainedna View Post
i can understand that.The game was released in dx9 and I dont think there are many mmos that turned their dx9 game in dx11 over night fully working.
But if with a major patch DX11 pretty much get broken and actually increases your CPU usage by a 20-30% at least that means they screwed something up right? Before DX11 actually gave you a performance boost with equal CPU usage etc.

I bet they screwed somethign up when they implemented the new Textures.
Captain
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 604
# 8
08-10-2013, 01:30 PM
In reality I'd like to think that a 3-4 year old game on our (my) system should easily run on the FPS cap with no issues.
BF3 does, farcry 3, ARMA2. All newer games and far more advanced than STO for graphics.
The only game I've seen run so badly is call of duty black ops on release.
They have screwed something up big style.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:38 AM.