Career Officer
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 277
Last patch killed my launcher and I have been completely unable to access the game. Why do the DEVS feel the need to screw with stuff that ain't broke and not fix "KNOWN" issues?
Captain
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,151
# 2
08-15-2013, 09:17 AM
Because when they implement code to fix the bugs they end up breaking something else.
Career Officer
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 277
# 3
08-15-2013, 09:18 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonnikku View Post
Because when they implement code to fix the bugs they end up breaking something else.
Maybe it is just me but isn't that kinda sorta the reason for the tribble server to run it as a test to see what it breaks?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,768
# 4
08-15-2013, 09:24 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnthebard View Post
Last patch killed my launcher and I have been completely unable to access the game. Why do the DEVS feel the need to screw with stuff that ain't broke and not fix "KNOWN" issues?
Because it's probably an issue with your hardware or software config on that PC; OR an issue with you ISP. And sorry but "All my other MMOs run fine" still isn't proof that it isn't something local to your PC (IE some conflicting software, setting or corruption); or a local ISP issue.

(And before people flame away at me I say that because it that were the case - that the launcher itself was totally hosed for that majority of the playerbase - you'd see a 'threadnaught (a + 1000 post thread, or multiple threads that the CMs would start merging into a giant thread.)
Formerly known as Armsman from June 2008 to June 20, 2012 http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=91861979000&dateline=  1340755546
PWE Drone says, "Your STO community as you have known it is ended...Display names are irrelevant...Any further sense of community is irrelevant...Resistance is futile...You will be assimilated..."
Ensign
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
# 5 I soooo agree ! !
08-15-2013, 09:28 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnthebard View Post
Maybe it is just me but isn't that kinda sorta the reason for the tribble server to run it as a test to see what it breaks?
HAHAHAH It's not funny actually , but it just tickles me to see that with this new patch they have pretty much ruined my log in... I have been thinking about throwing the hole game in the trash because of this constant seeming to fix something and messing up something else in the process.
I think it's my concept that I've spent over $200 bills on the game in the last 6 months and feel I would be loosing out of my investment if I quit. I'm starting to think again.... LOL

Cpt. Ron
Lieutenant
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
# 6
08-15-2013, 09:38 AM
If you have the same issue as I have (launcher showing on taskbar but not on screen) there is a workaround in red at the top of the main forum page. Basically it tells you to minimize then maximize STO launcher via the task manager (ctrl alt delete). However server is being patched atm so maybe this wont be an issue afterwards.
Career Officer
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 277
# 7
08-15-2013, 10:13 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaimeson99 View Post
If you have the same issue as I have (launcher showing on taskbar but not on screen) there is a workaround in red at the top of the main forum page. Basically it tells you to minimize then maximize STO launcher via the task manager (ctrl alt delete). However server is being patched atm so maybe this wont be an issue afterwards.
I tried this work around but all I got was a error code saying that the launcher was uanble to authenticate the login and or password. I even went so far as to uninstall the launcher and reinstall it only to find the same results.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,184
# 8
08-15-2013, 10:15 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnthebard View Post
I tried this work around but all I got was a error code saying that the launcher was uanble to authenticate the login and or password. I even went so far as to uninstall the launcher and reinstall it only to find the same results.
Are you certain you're typing in the correct password, or that someone didn't change your password?

I know it's a stupid question, but dumber things have happened to me.
STO is about my Liberated Borg Federation Captain with his Breen 1st Officer, Jem'Hadar Tactical Officer, Liberated Borg Engineering Officer, Android Ops Officer, Photonic Science Officer, Gorn Science Officer, and Reman Medical Officer jumping into their Jem'Hadar Carrier and flying off to do missions for the new Romulan Empire. But for some players allowing a T5 Connie to be used breaks the canon in the game.
Career Officer
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 277
# 9
08-15-2013, 10:22 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by crypticarmsman View Post
Because it's probably an issue with your hardware or software config on that PC; OR an issue with you ISP. And sorry but "All my other MMOs run fine" still isn't proof that it isn't something local to your PC (IE some conflicting software, setting or corruption); or a local ISP issue.

(And before people flame away at me I say that because it that were the case - that the launcher itself was totally hosed for that majority of the playerbase - you'd see a 'threadnaught (a + 1000 post thread, or multiple threads that the CMs would start merging into a giant thread.)
Sorry to throw cold water on your theories but after 3&1/2 years of this I know it isn't my computer or my ISP [otherwise other programs on my PC would be affected]. What it more likely is the fact they are trying to force people to run ARC and all the bloatware that comes with it. My launcher had worked perfectly until seaon 7. Now It's Dead Jim like Spock said when you have ruled out the logical then what remains no matter how improbable must be the truth. So it must be on the Cryptic PWE side.
Career Officer
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 277
# 10
08-15-2013, 10:24 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecosmic1 View Post
Are you certain you're typing in the correct password, or that someone didn't change your password?

I know it's a stupid question, but dumber things have happened to me.
Yes I am still typing the correct passwords otherwise I would not be able to log in on this forum and complain.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 PM.