Career Officer
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 246
# 11
10-16-2013, 03:46 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by grouchyotaku View Post
Just tell them you need to have them diagnose a problem with PACKET DROP on the connection to the STO servers...
I sent the results of my trace to both Brighthouse and Cogent. I'm not expecting much to happen--particularly since they'll just tag it as "another whining gamer complaint."
Ensign
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
# 12
10-16-2013, 11:39 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbmonroe View Post
I sent the results of my trace to both Brighthouse and Cogent. I'm not expecting much to happen--particularly since they'll just tag it as "another whining gamer complaint."
I did the same as I too have Brighthouse. After being bounced around multiple tech support people. the last finally took took the info and gave me a ticket number. I'm not expecting this to be fixed short of Cogent deciding to stop being terrible. Aggravating as this started in Oct, up until then there were no issues. I also don't have this issue connecting to anything but STO.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,473
# 13
10-17-2013, 07:13 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccintron View Post
I did the same as I too have Brighthouse. After being bounced around multiple tech support people. the last finally took took the info and gave me a ticket number. I'm not expecting this to be fixed short of Cogent deciding to stop being terrible. Aggravating as this started in Oct, up until then there were no issues. I also don't have this issue connecting to anything but STO.
Its most likely not being caused by Cogent Communications, as they provide more then enough bandwidth to support their hosted services (which includes Netflix, which continues to have a logarithmic growth rate in network bandwidth use...) Its more likely that its Road Runner who hasn't expanded their gateway bandwidth to keep up with growing demand from their subscribers... (And after all, Road Runner isn't making any $$$ from Netflix traffic, so they really don't have much motivation to do so, until enough subscribers start complaining...)
Commander
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 435
# 14
10-17-2013, 06:01 PM
I live in Northwestern South Carolina as well, and I have AT&T U-Verse.

I'm having the same exact issues you are.
Captain
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,761
# 15
10-17-2013, 07:42 PM
[quote=ccintron;12895641]I have also been having issues with STO overall for the past couple of weeks. Rubberbanding and Lag (where everything on screen freezes for a few seconds) making the game unplayable. After one of these pause cycles its not uncommon to find my ship has taken a ton of damage during the pause.

Had the same problem tonight.
Play more STO Foundry! (You can thank me later.)

A TIME TO SEARCH: ENTER MY FOUNDRY MISSION at the RISA SYSTEM in the SIRIUS SECTOR
Ensign
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
# 16
10-18-2013, 07:34 PM
Working with Brighthouse to try and resolve. They have been testing routing to 208.95.185.41 and aren't seeing any issue.

They've asked if I can get Perfect Worlds to run a trace back to my ip to see if the problem is the return path which is not always identical.

Thus far no word back from Perfect Worlds on getting me that information.

Logged in to see and there is still the consistent pause very 10 - 12 seconds. However as I had tried a clean install (which took forever to install at an average of 30kbs) entering a system tends to prompt a download before actually getting into the system.

Each of these system mini downloads were listing 20kbs in the top left corner of the loading screen.

I'm starting to wonder if this may not be the real issue, we aren't getting data BACK from the STO server fast enough.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
# 17
10-19-2013, 11:07 AM
Ever since the last patch a few nights ago I can't stay in any non-sector map for more than a few seconds without getting "server not responding" messages and eventually getting booted. It's become a test of patience to just get in and get myself back out into sector space. While in sector space the game runs normally. Every other service I use online (streaming, other MMOs) run just fine, it's only this game and only when I enter a combat space zone or ground zone. It's getting ridiculous, and I can't see how it has anything to do with my connection. I think their latest patch must've broke something.

EDIT - Here's my tracert results

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]

route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 29 ms 7 ms 10 ms 10.0.0.1
2 16 ms 35 ms 29 ms 73.96.20.1
3 15 ms 18 ms 33 ms te-0-0-0-11-ur09.everett.wa.seattle.comcast.net
[68.86.98.161]
4 21 ms 15 ms 32 ms ae-29-0-ar03.burien.wa.seattle.comcast.net [69.1
39.164.213]
5 25 ms 31 ms 18 ms ae-2-0-ar03.seattle.wa.seattle.comcast.net [68.8
6.177.146]
6 46 ms 27 ms 23 ms he-1-4-0-0-10-cr01.seattle.wa.ibone.comcast.net
[68.86.94.237]
7 24 ms 18 ms 14 ms be-11-pe03.seattle.wa.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.8
4.78]
8 * 62 ms 67 ms as174.seattle.wa.ibone.comcast.net [66.208.228.1
10]
9 65 ms 65 ms 49 ms be2085.ccr21.slc01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.2.
198]
10 61 ms 81 ms 47 ms be2127.ccr22.den01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.25
.69]
11 93 ms 68 ms 70 ms be2129.mpd21.mci01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.26
.114]
12 100 ms 115 ms 97 ms be2157.ccr22.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.6.
118]
13 149 ms 149 ms 146 ms be2137.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.43
.194]
14 140 ms 160 ms 146 ms te3-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.
134]
15 101 ms 96 ms 99 ms 38.111.40.114
16 108 ms 99 ms 109 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.

Everything but the last three cogentco pings are nominal.

EDIT 2: Ran the ispconfig/renew command, seems to have worked. Nevermind!

Last edited by captbrack814; 10-19-2013 at 12:33 PM.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:51 PM.