Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 41
01-30-2010, 03:46 AM
My first two hours into the game was a horror. I had 3minute lag, I kid you not. My system also blows away the requirements, but I was determined to keep trying. I did not believe it was my comp at fualt, as the beta ran fine. The problem turned out to be my Nvidia drivers. I went to the website, and downloaded the latest 64bit graphics drivers for my comp.

Problems all solved.

I have the feeling I caused the trouble in the first place though. Earlier in the day I installed Mass Effect 2 and part of that was the new DirectX. Maybe that screwed my old drivers up. Whatever the cause, STO now runs flawlessly for me. Such a relief.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 42
01-30-2010, 03:48 AM
I admit: I have lag issues too and my machine beats the minimum requirements by far too.

but I only lag when I have MSN, Yahoo, E-mule, some torrential downloads, several open webpages (like fleet's forum and this forum) and some video capture software open.

(I think its me causing the lag )
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 43
01-30-2010, 03:57 AM
my god people can you be more fanboy. he may be a bit well lawerish, but the game has some problums, i think the uda system not sure of the name is buggy as all get out. thier is alot of packet loss that causes the ruudderbanding. if you had a ram monitor you would also see thier are some bad memory leaks.

i know everone of you that said ive had no problums and the game runs great is not telling the whole truth here. if you looked at reigon chat, and see a gm say ill get to it i have so many tickets i can get to them,well?

for me the game runs well fairly good fps.but thier are problums and its no help to attack anyone that says thier is , the dev need to hear about problums if not how can they fix them what i did not see was that he made any bug reports. comming here to say thier is a problum dose not help them get fixed.

so the haters and the fanboys need to step back if you have a problum bug report it. and just because the game runs bug free ( cough) on your godly game rigs, i dose not mean thier is not a problum with other peoples rigs.

and you should not have to roll back you vid drivers 5 builds to run a game. that build stank for 50% of the games i played, why would i roll back to it to play one game. and mostly it is just a game please people grow up
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 44
01-30-2010, 03:57 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bernstein View Post
I admit: I have lag issues too and my machine beats the minimum requirements by far too.

but I only lag when I have MSN, Yahoo, E-mule, some torrential downloads, several open webpages (like fleet's forum and this forum) and some video capture software open.

(I think its me causing the lag )
Lol, yeah I think you may have found the cause. I always laugh at friends groaning why their MMO's run like crap and then realise that they forgot to disable their Torrent downloads.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 45
01-30-2010, 04:08 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by varuflur View Post
my god people can you be more fanboy. he may be a bit well lawerish, but the game has some problums, i think the uda system not sure of the name is buggy as all get out. thier is alot of packet loss that causes the ruudderbanding. if you had a ram monitor you would also see thier are some bad memory leaks.

i know everone of you that said ive had no problums and the game runs great is not telling the whole truth here. if you looked at reigon chat, and see a gm say ill get to it i have so many tickets i can get to them,well?

for me the game runs well fairly good fps.but thier are problums and its no help to attack anyone that says thier is , the dev need to hear about problums if not how can they fix them what i did not see was that he made any bug reports. comming here to say thier is a problum dose not help them get fixed.

so the haters and the fanboys need to step back if you have a problum bug report it. and just because the game runs bug free ( cough) on your godly game rigs, i dose not mean thier is not a problum with other peoples rigs.

and you should not have to roll back you vid drivers 5 builds to run a game. that build stank for 50% of the games i played, why would i roll back to it to play one game. and mostly it is just a game please people grow up
It may just be that English is a second language for you, and in that case no offense is meant:

It's problem not problum


As for how the game runs, it really does run great on mine. No crashing, no glitching, smooth frame rate... that's the whole truth. Wait, I forgot... I can't make my joined trill character yet... so that is really , but not a performance issue.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 46
01-30-2010, 04:19 AM
Runs great on my computer, and the fact is, it will probably run great on anyone's computer providing they have a half decent one and know what they are talking about. So stop with the 'it runs crap, ergo it must be crap and couldn't possibly be my computer that is the problem' threads, you just make yourself look stupid and what is more, needlessly malign a product too when you write things like that.

Al
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 47
01-30-2010, 04:24 AM
well point was made and no im from the us. i got a bit to close to a realy big boom in the in mid 84 no need to say where but it kind of messed with my brain a bit. im so sorry if my grammer is not so good. i think you have a bit too much time on you hands sir. and after the road i walked tbh i could care less what you think on this matter. have a nice day


god bless all the troops that hold the line in the sand to keep us safe.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 48
01-30-2010, 04:32 AM
OP:

I have a constant frame rate of 60 FPS (Vsync is forced on) running the game at maximum settings, 1920x1200 @ 16xQ AA 16xAF. Granted, my computer utterly destroys yours (Phenom x4 965 with 8GB RAM, SLI'ed GTX 275's and the game loading off of a X25-M SSD) but considering you're only running a GTS 250 (quite literally a 9800 GTX+ with a cooler looking sticker on it) I hope you're not playing in the massive AA league.

Most people's problems stem from running high resolutions with high AA without enough video RAM to back it up, or from using high CSAA with low-end modern cards such as a GTS 250.

Quote:
Originally Posted by varuflur View Post
my god people can you be more fanboy. he may be a bit well lawerish, but the game has some problums, i think the uda system not sure of the name is buggy as all get out. thier is alot of packet loss that causes the ruudderbanding. if you had a ram monitor you would also see thier are some bad memory leaks.
1. Rubberbanding was not the issue on topic here, as we all know it exists, but rather input lag and framerate drops and general slugginess.
2. There is no issue with memory leaks if you run 4+ GB of RAM and/or a 64-bit system. I've played the game for over 12h straight without stuttering or RAM issues.

Quote:
Originally Posted by varuflur
and you should not have to roll back you vid drivers 5 builds to run a game. that build stank for 50% of the games i played, why would i roll back to it to play one game. and mostly it is just a game please people grow up
GeForce driver 196.21 (2010-01-19) along with EVGA's latest SLI profile package (2010-01-23) runs STO perfectly, thank you very much.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I had very bad graphic lag and system slowdown during beta, primarily because this was my system :

CPU : FX57 (single core)
RAM: 4x1GB DDR Twinx Corsair (DDR1)
GPU: Nvidia GeForce 8600 GTS
OS : Windows 7, installed day of release and used since as main PC.
Drives : SATA2 OS and games drives.

Yes I know the minimums say at least dual core, but it was still playable and you just had to stutter through combat when lots of player/npc models were on screen, or turn the settings way down. (They were kept at default to test) When the game was released I was able to use a friends spare PC to see the difference:

CPU : AM2 Dual Core (Forget exactly which but better than my FX57)
RAM: 2x 1GB DDR2 Corsair Matched Pair
GPU : Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS
OS : Windows 7 Fresh install, nothing but the game and relevant mobo drivers installed.
Drives : 2x SATA WD Raptors for OS and Games.

And It ran much smoother and nicer graphically, right up to the point where it crashes every 5 mins. Tried various things but still kept doing it. Its not the GPU overheating, and the system is stable normally it only crashes in games so im inclined to think its DX related.

So I went back to my poor below par system because it actually stays up in the game
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 50
01-30-2010, 04:58 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seether
NVIDIA Card?

Roll back to 190.62...
No, upgrade to the 196.x version which came out last week. You'll have better performance than the 190.62 AND it will run cooler.

If you have ATI, there's some other things you will need to do.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:04 PM.