Commander
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 342
# 11
10-31-2013, 12:27 PM
Hmm. Have you tried typing /ugcEditorImportProject someprojectname.txt ? Just a guess. Would be nice if you really could use this to import and export Foundry missions.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 669
# 12
10-31-2013, 12:53 PM
I dont know if we will ever get import ability, just because its far easier to blanketly deny all access to their servers than to let a trickle of inbound traffic not from their own client.
But we can wish and dream though.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,054
# 13
10-31-2013, 03:35 PM
I can't wait to see this in action. A spell check would be a godsend for us. It's just too time-consuming and error-prone to copy and paste dialogues back and forth from word.

If you want, I can make a tutorial for this, unless you want to make your own tutorial.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 200
# 14
10-31-2013, 04:06 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirksplat View Post
I can't wait to see this in action. A spell check would be a godsend for us. It's just too time-consuming and error-prone to copy and paste dialogues back and forth from word.

If you want, I can make a tutorial for this, unless you want to make your own tutorial.
Realize that this is a one-way process, so there will still be some pasting from Word or whatever back into the Foundry editor, but at least you'll be able to do composition in the Foundry like you are used to and then only deal with the problems found in the export.

By the way... the V1 engine is COMPLETE! I'm able to extract and format all the elements that are important for proofing. This includes:
  • Project Description
  • Grant Dialog
  • All Dialog Trees
  • Map listing
  • Objectives list
  • Map Transitions
  • Chat Bubbles

That's pretty much everything except NPC, ship and object names.

I still have some work to do to hook up the engine to do file I/O and I need to slap a minimal UI on it (or release it as a console application), but the heavy lifting for reading and formatting is done.

I'm also thinking I can sneak in the ability to do HTML formatting as an alternative. That will let you bring it into Word with tables and some slightly prettier formatting over the current plain text output.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 30
# 15
10-31-2013, 06:02 PM
http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...=252764&page=2

Maybe someone still has it. I know I do .

The parsing is extremely simple:
Collect the lines that contain these values
PromptBody = Text
Action after it = Button text
Description = Mission text
Remove ", <&, &> marks and replace the \n with enter.

And that is about it. You parsed the text. Now that I think of this. Few lines of word macro could do this and bam, you can open the export file directly from word.

In the app, there was a button for copy to clipboard, so no need to select all...


My import/export tool had the following extra features over this:

The app was always on top.

Individual dialog boxes were separated. All the button texts were included over the text. The content of the current memo was copied to the clipboard automatically. No need to click on the actual app window.

You could go through the dialog boxes just by hovering over the next and prev buttons.

All this meant that you didn't have to alt-tab copy-past back and forth. Just keep on pasting while the STO client was the focused window.

And it could build and replicate map structures in a breeze .
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hz5F1zNr7Z8

Tried the import command. Didn't work.

Last edited by pendra8080; 10-31-2013 at 07:05 PM.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 200
# 16
10-31-2013, 07:04 PM
That's pretty impressive, Pendra!

This has a very different targeted use, but perhaps some of the ideas in your app can be re-used, like auto-pasting to dialog windows.


Back to the reviewer formatting app: I just ran the dump file for "Collectiveness Strikes Gold I" through the formatter and it looks really good. I may be missing some dialog boxes -- I'm not sure yet -- but that can be fixed pretty easily if it's the case. And the thing is blazing fast.

It's bare-bones -- just a plain text file, but it's really easy to read through and proofread.

I'm going to try to get it to output HTML as well tonight, which will be even easier to read.

No UI yet -- not even a command line. Everything is running from NUnit right now. I'll add a UI later this weekend once I'm happy with the parsing and formatting engines.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 30
# 17
10-31-2013, 07:30 PM
Dim singleLine As Paragraph
Dim lineText As String
Dim dline As Boolean

For Each singleLine In ActiveDocument.Paragraphs
dline = True
lineText = singleLine.Range.Text
If InStr(lineText, "PromptBody <&") > 0 Then dline = False
If InStr(lineText, "PromptBody """) > 0 Then dline = False
If InStr(lineText, "Description <&") > 0 Then dline = False
If InStr(lineText, "Action """) > 0 Then dline = False
If dline Then singleLine.Range.Text = ""
Next singleLine

Selection.Find.ClearFormatting
Selection.Find.Replacement.ClearFormatting
With Selection.Find
.Text = "Description <&"
.Replacement.Text = ""
.Forward = True
.Wrap = wdFindAsk
.Format = False
.MatchCase = False
.MatchWholeWord = False
.MatchWildcards = False
.MatchSoundsLike = False
.MatchAllWordForms = False
End With
Selection.Find.Execute Replace:=wdReplaceAll

Selection.Find.ClearFormatting
Selection.Find.Replacement.ClearFormatting
With Selection.Find
.Text = "PromptBody """
.Replacement.Text = "^p^p"
.Forward = True
.Wrap = wdFindAsk
.Format = False
.MatchCase = False
.MatchWholeWord = False
.MatchWildcards = False
.MatchSoundsLike = False
.MatchAllWordForms = False
End With
Selection.Find.Execute Replace:=wdReplaceAll

Selection.Find.ClearFormatting
Selection.Find.Replacement.ClearFormatting
With Selection.Find
.Text = "PromptBody <&"
.Replacement.Text = "^p^p"
.Forward = True
.Wrap = wdFindAsk
.Format = False
.MatchCase = False
.MatchWholeWord = False
.MatchWildcards = False
.MatchSoundsLike = False
.MatchAllWordForms = False
End With
Selection.Find.Execute Replace:=wdReplaceAll

Selection.Find.ClearFormatting
Selection.Find.Replacement.ClearFormatting
With Selection.Find
.Text = "Action """
.Replacement.Text = ""
.Forward = True
.Wrap = wdFindAsk
.Format = False
.MatchCase = False
.MatchWholeWord = False
.MatchWildcards = False
.MatchSoundsLike = False
.MatchAllWordForms = False
End With
Selection.Find.Execute Replace:=wdReplaceAll

Selection.Find.ClearFormatting
Selection.Find.Replacement.ClearFormatting
With Selection.Find
.Text = "&>"
.Replacement.Text = ""
.Forward = True
.Wrap = wdFindAsk
.Format = False
.MatchCase = False
.MatchWholeWord = False
.MatchWildcards = False
.MatchSoundsLike = False
.MatchAllWordForms = False
End With
Selection.Find.Execute Replace:=wdReplaceAll

Selection.Find.ClearFormatting
Selection.Find.Replacement.ClearFormatting
With Selection.Find
.Text = "\n"
.Replacement.Text = "^p"
.Forward = True
.Wrap = wdFindAsk
.Format = False
.MatchCase = False
.MatchWholeWord = False
.MatchWildcards = False
.MatchSoundsLike = False
.MatchAllWordForms = False
End With
Selection.Find.Execute Replace:=wdReplaceAll

Selection.Find.ClearFormatting
Selection.Find.Replacement.ClearFormatting
With Selection.Find
.Text = "^t"
.Replacement.Text = ""
.Forward = True
.Wrap = wdFindAsk
.Format = False
.MatchCase = False
.MatchWholeWord = False
.MatchWildcards = False
.MatchSoundsLike = False
.MatchAllWordForms = False
End With
Selection.Find.Execute Replace:=wdReplaceAll

Selection.Find.ClearFormatting
Selection.Find.Replacement.ClearFormatting
With Selection.Find
.Text = """^p"
.Replacement.Text = "^p"
.Forward = True
.Wrap = wdFindAsk
.Format = False
.MatchCase = False
.MatchWholeWord = False
.MatchWildcards = False
.MatchSoundsLike = False
.MatchAllWordForms = False
End With
Selection.Find.Execute Replace:=wdReplaceAll
Lieutenant
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 30
# 18
10-31-2013, 07:33 PM
So, open word, go to Tools - Macro - Macro, Click create new, add a name
and then copy the whole thing above the End Sub line.

Load the export file into word.

Go to Tools - Macro - Macro, select the macro you just created and let it run.

You should end up with the text parts only in word.
Captain
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5,472
# 19
10-31-2013, 10:20 PM
Is there any good way to use the existing tools to export and import costumes? I've got five that I want to carry over to "Bait and Switch, Part II" but part of the reason I've been dragging my heels on it is because I've been dreading the fiddly bits of remaking Kree, Zell, Theel, Grell, and Kanril*. (How did I end up with four characters with names ending in the letter 'l'? )

* I remade my Fed tac to be my face in the mission end dialog.
Capt. Kanril Eleya, U.S.S. Andraste, Strike Team Alpha

Useful Links for Foundry Writers | "Bait and Switch" -- Fed Foundry project, Part 1 rewards-qualified!
Say no to Arc! STO standalone installer
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 367
# 20
10-31-2013, 11:32 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by starswordc View Post
Is there any good way to use the existing tools to export and import costumes? I've got five that I want to carry over to "Bait and Switch, Part II" but part of the reason I've been dragging my heels on it is because I've been dreading the fiddly bits of remaking Kree, Zell, Theel, Grell, and Kanril*. (How did I end up with four characters with names ending in the letter 'l'? )

* I remade my Fed tac to be my face in the mission end dialog.
no, screenshots are the only real way because even if you note the named things, the slides can drastically change how it looks.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:47 PM.