Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
# 161 Mavericks compatibility?
02-26-2014, 11:34 AM
Does anyone know if the current STO client is compatible with Mavericks? When the beta client was first available, it worked fine until I upgraded to Mavericks. Then my macbook completely crashed and the Apple Store had to restore it back to OS X 10.8.5. That's what I'm currently running and it seems stable. I'm now gun shy of trying Mavericks again.

My system specs: 13-inch, Mid 2012
Processor 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5
Memory 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Graphics Intel HD Graphics 4000 512 MB
Software OS X 10.8.5 (12F45)

STO client version: 1.0.009589

Much appreciated!
Ensign
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
# 162
02-26-2014, 03:48 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by bellerev View Post
Does anyone know if the current STO client is compatible with Mavericks? When the beta client was first available, it worked fine until I upgraded to Mavericks. Then my macbook completely crashed and the Apple Store had to restore it back to OS X 10.8.5. That's what I'm currently running and it seems stable. I'm now gun shy of trying Mavericks again.

My system specs: 13-inch, Mid 2012
Processor 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5
Memory 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Graphics Intel HD Graphics 4000 512 MB
Software OS X 10.8.5 (12F45)

STO client version: 1.0.009589

Much appreciated!
I am currently running Mavericks on my 3.4 Gh Intel Core i7 27" iMac. Having some glitches as described in the last post of page 16, but mostly it runs fine.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 123
# 163
02-27-2014, 07:06 PM
I've only been using STO with Mavericks and can't say I've encountered that issue.

Everything's been smooth sailing for the most part.
Ensign
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
# 164
03-21-2014, 08:58 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by speakingofhats View Post
I don't know if any one else if having this issue, or if it's just my computer. But it seems that every time I quit out of the game the launch window appears and 'freezes'. The Gateway advertisements still rotate, but none of the buttons work, nor am I able to shut it down properly (STO menu > Quit). I end up having to force quit it every time.




Also some severe lag in certain areas like Earth space port and Borg battles where skins tend to go missing.


Running
Mac OSX 10.7.4
Processor 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5
Memory 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Graphics AMD Radeon HD 6750M 512 MB
Mac OSX 10..7.5 is required

as for the others, it should be working fine
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Hi, I've been using the Open Beta of STO for Mac. It seems to have been updated regularlly. Do I need to download the "Official Mac Client" or has the Open Beta version been updated so that nothing more is needed?

If the Open Beta has evolved into the Official Client, then I'll just keep using what's installed.

Thanks for your help.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 123
# 166
03-25-2014, 04:17 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by framitz View Post
Hi, I've been using the Open Beta of STO for Mac. It seems to have been updated regularlly. Do I need to download the "Official Mac Client" or has the Open Beta version been updated so that nothing more is needed?

If the Open Beta has evolved into the Official Client, then I'll just keep using what's installed.

Thanks for your help.
There is no need to download the Launcher again. It will continue to update itself with each launch when they push a new update. What you're using now is the Official Mac Client.

It did evolve indeed!
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
# 167
03-25-2014, 04:34 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkelipse04 View Post
There is no need to download the Launcher again. It will continue to update itself with each launch when they push a new update. What you're using now is the Official Mac Client.

It did evolve indeed!
Thanks for your help!
Ensign
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
# 168
04-23-2014, 09:50 PM
Has anybody else been getting an "Error-2" message when trying to launch the game through Steam? Do any Mac users know how to fix this issue, or do I have to wait for another update?
Ensign
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
# 169 Crash/freeze
04-26-2014, 01:17 AM
Every time I log into STO the game either crashes back to my desktop or freezes entirely during the loading screen. I thought Cryptic fixed this problem
Lieutenant
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 56
# 170
04-26-2014, 10:07 AM
Exact same problem here. Season 9 update has nuked STO on BOTH my late 2013 MacBook Pro (Intel Iris Pro) and my brand new 27" iMac (i7, Nvidia 780M GPU) which just arrived this past Wednesday. I was able to get some game time on the iMac before the Season 9 patch came out and it worked fine.

With both computers I can get to the character selection screen just fine. When I choose a character and enter the game I either get a crash to desktop or the game freezes within a few seconds and I have to Force-Quit.

These 2 Mac computers have very little in common so I don't think it's anything on my end.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:51 PM.