Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 201
10-31-2010, 04:22 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylr616 View Post
Great stuff. This deserves a sticky.

This game is a pleasure to play from the couch!
Bump. I totally agree
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 202
11-06-2010, 12:52 PM
Anyone applying these tricks using a Saitek X45 or X52?

I have found a technical issue, determined it's cause, and am now seeking a workaround.

The issue is found on, but not limited to, Saitek X52 and X45 HOTAS joysticks. The issue is the 2 sliders (Mode and Aux) are continually transmitting their position (1 of 3 positions, in each case) as Slider1 and Slider2. These override some but not all signals from the throttle. The solution in other games is to have the game ignore/disable these slider's signals:

http://www.egosoft.com/support/faq/f...b48e3197f1315a

Quote:
This problem is normally caused by certain joysticks and other input devices that have buttons (or more commonly switches) which send a continuous signal to the game. This effect causes some problems with the way DirectX handles joystick/joypad input, and leads to the keyboard repeat problem. The most common devices to cause this are Saitek X45 and X52 joysticks, but these are not the only ones to do it.

The fix for this is to ignore one or all of the buttons that is generated by the switch, and X3 includes a means to do this. To ignore a button, follow these steps:

Locate the shortcut to X3 that you use to play the game (Start Menu, Desktop, Quick launch, etc.).


Right click on the shortcut and select Properties.


In the Target box, add the following to the end of the command listed in the box:
-ignorejoy 1
Replace 1 with the number of the button to ignore - may take some trial and error to find.


Add another -ignorejoy N entry for each additional button to ignore


Click OK


Repeat for any other shortcuts you use to launch the game


Hopefully that will take care of it although it is possible that this won't be a complete workaround for some hardware.
Unfortunately, this is not for THIS game.



What I am seeking is either a shortcut switch or a command line I can use to disable Slider1 and Slider2 inputs to STO. Any clues as to what might work?

I will re-post this in the technical support thread as well.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 203
12-04-2010, 02:07 PM
There's so much information in this thread over the span of a year that it confuses me a bit. I bought a 360 controller but am not home yet to test it out. As it stands in december how difficult is it to get everything setup and bound? Also, is it possible to map more or less everything so I only have to use the keyboard for just chatting? Lastly, are there any bind setups from other more experinced players available for downloading somewhere?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 204
12-04-2010, 04:21 PM
I've got everything working very nicely in space but am having one final issue. To be able to look around with my camera with the right stick I need to have free camera on. I like the camera to follow my target, but when I use that my right stick does nothing. Is there a way I can have my camera lock on my target allowing me to look around using my right stick?

I'm using the rev4 bindings posted on page 10 of this thread.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 205 Keybinds no longer working
02-07-2011, 10:30 PM
I was using the xbox keybinds rev4 just fine, but then I updated to windows 7, since then I haven't been able to load my keybinds into the game. I have moved the files to the appropriate folder in the game, but they won't load, any ideas?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 206 I just bought a controller
02-19-2011, 02:02 PM
I'd love to use my controller, but it seems that I can't keybind anything to in in the menus, and after reading through the thread here...

...Cryptic should really make it easier then having to bind them all manually.

I'm not sure I want to deal with it... I like some of the revision files that everyone has come up with, but I really would like to play around with it a bit.

I just started a new character and it'd be cool to run him through using the controller this time, but ugh...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 207
02-25-2011, 09:28 AM
well my xbox360 controller won't work

I've downloaded the files and ityped in the dialogue but NADA

it is windows 7 64x thought - is this a common problemn?

I don't seem to b able to alter commands manually either
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 208
02-25-2011, 10:18 AM
XPadder is the best program to use when trying to play STO with the 360 controller. Completely customizable and works great. I've used it since lauch and haven't needed anything else since.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 209 Help
03-07-2011, 03:50 PM
Sorry, I searched this thread but couldn't find it. Can someone please explain to a newb how exactly to enter these bind codes? I'm new to pc gaming. I usually play with a controller, and have tried xpadder, but think binding would be better, specifically for shooting. Thx!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 210
03-30-2011, 06:28 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by sariel2005 View Post
well my xbox360 controller won't work

I've downloaded the files and ityped in the dialogue but NADA

it is windows 7 64x thought - is this a common problemn?

I don't seem to b able to alter commands manually either
Yes, I am having the same problem. I tried XP Mode but STO just freezes when I try to boot it up.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 AM.