Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I have several Biological Samples on my inventory, but the "console" on Memory Alpha does not recognize any of them. I've tried everything, from moving the samples from the inventory to my character to "Equip" every sample. Nothing seems to work.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,

Edwin
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-01-2010, 12:00 PM
You are trying to use the wrong biological samples with the console.

You have to talk to Egann in Starbase 1 in Sol to get the mission to take the sample to Memory Alpha and talk to Romaine. Then you use the console and you done it.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-01-2010, 12:42 PM
But, after that, the only way to use any science sample is as part of crafting to upgrade items. In the future, this will lead to higher level crafting NPCs, but at this point in time I'm pretty sure it's still pointless to try. There is no sign of crafting progress with Romain.

In the mean time, just bank your data samples. You don't have to carry them around currently either, not even commodities, both are automatically accessed from the bank, which is tremendously convenient.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-01-2010, 02:45 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by MajorD View Post
But, after that, the only way to use any science sample is as part of crafting to upgrade items. In the future, this will lead to higher level crafting NPCs, but at this point in time I'm pretty sure it's still pointless to try. There is no sign of crafting progress with Romain.

In the mean time, just bank your data samples. You don't have to carry them around currently either, not even commodities, both are automatically accessed from the bank, which is tremendously convenient.
I did not know this, thank you emensely for this info...Might buy some commodities and actually do some of the Aid missions now.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-01-2010, 05:04 PM
You're welcome.

Don't buy the commodities unless a mission asks for them. They're expensive and you occasionally pick them up for free in missions. If you get a mission that needs them, you can pick them up from cargo ships, rather than having to go to a base.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-01-2010, 05:23 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by MajorD View Post
But, after that, the only way to use any science sample is as part of crafting to upgrade items. In the future, this will lead to higher level crafting NPCs, but at this point in time I'm pretty sure it's still pointless to try. There is no sign of crafting progress with Romain.

In the mean time, just bank your data samples. You don't have to carry them around currently either, not even commodities, both are automatically accessed from the bank, which is tremendously convenient.
Is that your bank or the fleet bank also ?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-01-2010, 07:09 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by MajorD View Post
But, after that, the only way to use any science sample is as part of crafting to upgrade items. In the future, this will lead to higher level crafting NPCs, but at this point in time I'm pretty sure it's still pointless to try. There is no sign of crafting progress with Romain.

In the mean time, just bank your data samples. You don't have to carry them around currently either, not even commodities, both are automatically accessed from the bank, which is tremendously convenient.

I found a page on http://stowiki.org/wiki/Main_Page that explains that you unlock more NPC's as you go up in rank. From what I've heard, the number of upgrades you buy from Romain doesn't unlock more NPC's. And certain NPCs are only available for certain professions. So a tactical officer will have access to upgrades that a science officer will not and vice versa. Can anyone else confirm?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-03-2010, 01:49 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amon View Post
Is that your bank or the fleet bank also ?
I haven't tested the Fleet Bank. I would think it would work the same except that I don't know how the system would prioritize the private or fleet bank over the other. It's worth emptying your private bank and trying out the fleet bank in crafting.
Quote:
Originally Posted by slick556 View Post
I found a page on http://stowiki.org/wiki/Main_Page that explains that you unlock more NPC's as you go up in rank. From what I've heard, the number of upgrades you buy from Romain doesn't unlock more NPC's. And certain NPCs are only available for certain professions. So a tactical officer will have access to upgrades that a science officer will not and vice versa. Can anyone else confirm?
Makes sense, although, it doesn't fit the words the NPC's say. The NPC's say, once you've completed Romain's tasks I'll have work for you. But, that inconsistency doesn't strike me as unexpected.

If Romain had actual research tasks, that would be interesting. Frankly, I don't like the crafting system. I've said it elsewhere, but I would like it if you could compile sets of data and gain item bonuses that can be applied as much as you want to the related item once you have the bonus. That way, you're turning data into knowledge, and like knowledge you can apply it all you want, rather than it being a limited resource.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:11 AM.