Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Will it run on my Laptop?
02-01-2010, 04:27 AM
This is my new laptop specs I was wondering if this meets the min specs?



------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 2/1/2010, 12:19:50
Machine name: AARON-LAPPY
Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6001) Service Pack 1 (6001.vistasp1_gdr.090805-0102)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Acer
System Model: Aspire 5338
BIOS: Ver 1.00PARTTBL
Processor: Celeron(R) Dual-Core CPU T3000 @ 1.80GHz (2 CPUs), ~1.8GHz
Memory: 3000MB RAM
Page File: 1682MB used, 4539MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 10
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 6.00.6001.18000 32bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
Display Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 2: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (retail)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (retail)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family
Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
Chip type: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family
DAC type: Internal
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2A42&SUBSYS_02051025&REV_09
Display Memory: 1308 MB
Dedicated Memory: 64 MB
Shared Memory: 1244 MB
Current Mode: 1366 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Generic PnP Monitor
Driver Name: igdumdx32.dll,igd10umd32.dll
Driver Version: 7.15.0010.1624 (English)


Description: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Default Sound Playback: Yes
Default Voice Playback: Yes
Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0888&SUBSYS_10250205& REV_1002
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: WDM
Driver Name: RTKVHDA.sys
Driver Version: 6.00.0001.5794 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
Date and Size: 2/19/2009 02:30:38, 2323680 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
HW Accel Level: Basic
Cap Flags: 0xF1F
Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

Description: Realtek Digital Output (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Default Sound Playback: No
Default Voice Playback: No
Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0888&SUBSYS_10250205& REV_1002
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: WDM
Driver Name: RTKVHDA.sys
Driver Version: 6.00.0001.5794 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
Date and Size: 2/19/2009 02:30:38, 2323680 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
HW Accel Level: Basic
Cap Flags: 0xF1F
Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No


Description: Microphone (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Default Sound Capture: Yes
Default Voice Capture: Yes
Driver Name: RTKVHDA.sys
Driver Version: 6.00.0001.5794 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Date and Size: 2/19/2009 02:30:38, 2323680 bytes
Cap Flags: 0x1
Format Flags: 0xFFFFF


Device Name: Mouse
Attached: 1
Controller ID: n/a
Vendor/Product ID: n/a
FF Driver: n/a

Device Name: Keyboard
Attached: 1
Controller ID: n/a
Vendor/Product ID: n/a
FF Driver: n/a

Poll w/ Interrupt: No


+ USB Root Hub
| Vendor/Product ID: 0x8086, 0x2935
| Matching Device ID: usb\root_hub
| Service: usbhub
| Driver: usbhub.sys, 1/21/2008 02:23:03, 194560 bytes
| Driver: usbd.sys, 1/21/2008 02:23:03, 5888 bytes




+ Launch Manager
| Matching Device ID: *pnp0303
| Upper Filters: DKbFltr
| Service: i8042prt
| Driver: DKbFltr.sys, 11/3/2006 05:29:36, 21264 bytes
| Driver: i8042prt.sys, 1/21/2008 02:23:20, 54784 bytes
| Driver: kbdclass.sys, 1/21/2008 02:23:23, 35384 bytes
|
+ Terminal Server Keyboard Driver
| Matching Device ID: root\rdp_kbd
| Upper Filters: kbdclass
| Service: TermDD
| Driver: i8042prt.sys, 1/21/2008 02:23:20, 54784 bytes
| Driver: kbdclass.sys, 1/21/2008 02:23:23, 35384 bytes
|
+ Synaptics PS/2 Port TouchPad
| Matching Device ID: *syn1b22
| Upper Filters: SynTP
| Service: i8042prt
|
+ Terminal Server Mouse Driver
| Matching Device ID: root\rdp_mou
| Upper Filters: mouclass
| Service: TermDD
| Driver: termdd.sys, 1/21/2008 02:23:01, 54328 bytes
| Driver: sermouse.sys, 1/21/2008 02:23:20, 19968 bytes
| Driver: mouclass.sys, 1/21/2008 02:23:20, 34360 bytes


Drive: C:
Free Space: 53.4 GB
Total Space: 142.6 GB
File System: NTFS
Model: WDC WD1600BEVT-22ZCT0

Drive: D:
Model: TSSTcorp CDDVDW TS-L633B
Driver: c:\windows\system32\drivers\cdrom.sys, 6.00.6001.18000 (English), 1/21/2008 02:23:02, 67072 bytes


Name: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family
Device ID: PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2A43&SUBSYS_02051025&REV_09\3&115 83659&0&11
Driver: n/a

Name: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family
Device ID: PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2A42&SUBSYS_02051025&REV_09\3&115 83659&0&10
Driver: C:\Windows\system32\DRIVERS\igdkmd32.sys, 7.15.0010.1624 (English), 12/23/2008 18:43:54, 2476032 bytes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-01-2010, 04:36 AM
The Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset that you have is not a graphics card. It's an onboard graphics chip. As such it's not even close to the minimum necessary to run STO.

I recommend getting a laptop with at least an Nvidia GT 240m or an ATI HD 4650 graphics card.

Here's a site where you can compare laptop graphics cards. http://www.notebookcheck.net/Compute...s.13849.0.html

They are listed from best on top to worst on bottom. The numbers shown are Frames Per Second in actual tests on those games. 25 FPS is considered the minimum necessary to play the game on those graphics settings.

STO is not listed on that chart, but CoD Modern Warfare 2 has similar system requirements. Anything that runs CoD Modern Warfare 2 should be able to run STO at similar settings with similar performance.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-01-2010, 02:46 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine_Falcon View Post

STO is not listed on that chart, but CoD Modern Warfare 2 has similar system requirements. Anything that runs CoD Modern Warfare 2 should be able to run STO at similar settings with similar performance.

thanks for posting this. it answers my question
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-03-2010, 03:39 AM
Your processor is too low in power, and that "graphics card" , if you can call it that will struggle with this game.

You might well be able to boot the game up, but if you are able to play, you will be stuck with 10-15 fps on low settings.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
08-11-2011, 07:58 AM
i have the same graphic card but my procesor is dual core intel 3.0, will it be enough on low setings? (win7 os) 3gb ram and stuff...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
12-18-2011, 04:27 PM
Sorry to resurrect such an old thread, but I can tell you that STO can run just fine on your laptop.

My specs:

Intel Celeron 900 @ 2.2Ghz (single core)
4GB DDR2 800mhz RAM
Intel HD4500 Integrated Graphics

I can run STO at 1366x768 (max res for my laptop) or 1920x1080 on my TV with the slider set to the setting one down from Max settings and I get 20fps. For best performance (PvP, SB 24, Borg DSEs, STFs, etc) where it can get a bit choppy from so much going on, I set it to the lowest settings with half-rez on as I'm more worried about getting stuff done than it looking pretty.

Few tips:
1) Advanced->Troubleshooting->Reduced File Streaming; Turn this ON. It makes a HUGE difference.

2) Set the Video Ram settings in Troubleshooting to 1024+. A lot of the Mobile Intel 4 series come with 64MB Dedicated, and a ton of shared. (The HD4500 is part of the 4 series, and my total VRam is 1695MB)

3) For when you want it to look "Pretty", turn special effects on high, post-processing on and bloom to high, and move the bloom intensity slider until it looks the way you like it to, and then tweak the detail and distance sliders to wherever you get the best balance of looks and performance.

4) Finally, make sure you disable all unnecessary services and close everything that eats up system resources. This will give a little boost to performance as well.


I have been playing STO since July of 2010 on a system not quite as good as yours and it works just fine for me and looks great. I also play games like Borderlands, Star Trek DAC, World of ********, Alien Vs. Predator 2000 Classic, Team Fortress 2, Half Life 2, Portal, Portal 2, Eve Online and many other games with this laptop. Anyone who says you can't use a laptop like yours for gaming does not know how to make any game playable on low-end systems. When I worked for Mythic Entertainment on Dark Age of Camelot, I used to send players a knowledge base article we had about what services are safe to disable to increase performance on low-end systems, but I don't have the link handy. I'm pretty sure it's probably still in Mythic's Knowledge Base, but I'm not going to search for it and post a link because I think linking to another MMO company's website on STO's forums is poor form.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
12-19-2011, 10:35 PM
I've actually run STO on a Netbook (Asus EEE 1000H). It certainly didn't run well (average about 5 fps with up to 10-15 at times on all low settings), but it was good enough to chat in and, I'd assume, to do DOFF stuff (which wasn't out when I had STO on the netbook).

But, again, it wasn't a "Let's go run some missions" quality or framerate by any stretch.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:11 PM.