Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
i've noticed this a few times where i've fought an enemy ship in space and they've managed to shoot through an asteroid or something, i'd not complain if only i was allowed to do the same thing lol, i have to be able to get into field of view before i can fire.

Is this something others are experiencing? any chance of a fix?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-29-2010, 10:43 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmdr Data
i've noticed this a few times where i've fought an enemy ship in space and they've managed to shoot through an asteroid or something, i'd not complain if only i was allowed to do the same thing lol, i have to be able to get into field of view before i can fire.

Is this something others are experiencing? any chance of a fix?
You can do it too sometimes. Basically you fly into the rock at the right angle and the tip of your bridge will clip inside. Since your forward weapons banks are passed the LOS blocking outer shell, and the inner shell doesn't block LOS (there are good reasons not to have it doing the extra calculations all the time), you can fire happily through the rock .
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-30-2010, 01:22 AM
I saw this on the first mission past tutorial. The battle ship at the end eventually was in an asteroid and still firing and i lost my target . I had to fly far enough away for him to chase then swing around and attack again once he was out.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-30-2010, 01:43 AM
It also depends on lag I think. The server side can register that the shot has been fired and has hit before you visibly make it behind something that blocks line of sight. Kinda the sister to the 'it looks like I fired two torps" visual bug.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-30-2010, 01:57 AM
this is not new was around since CB
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-30-2010, 03:41 AM
Lag.......
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-30-2010, 10:58 AM
Yeah i noticed it in CB as well Cowkiller. I've not seen this that often but on a couple of occasions at least. Lag is a possibility yeah. It just didnt seem laggy at the time but yeah, i reckon u guys are right as the servers were busy and there was a bit of lag at some stages.

cheers guys.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-30-2010, 11:05 AM
It's not just "lag". It's the same problem it's always been: an AI can get itself locked up on a rock or other object. You cannot target it but it targets and fires at you. You have to maneuver around until you find a good line of sight to the target so you can shoot back.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-30-2010, 01:03 PM
Not going to lie, I was JUST about to post a thread on this


We need an answer if this is working as intended because using astroids as shileds and barriers is...well....tactics lol
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
01-30-2010, 01:04 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmdr Data
i've noticed this a few times where i've fought an enemy ship in space and they've managed to shoot through an asteroid or something, i'd not complain if only i was allowed to do the same thing lol, i have to be able to get into field of view before i can fire.

Is this something others are experiencing? any chance of a fix?
yeah lol my team was behind some cargo containers ready to launch an attack and suddenly we got rapped while behind some containers. Could barely move becasue my team was all around me lol wish I could walk through npcs as well.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:15 PM.