Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I did a quest last night where I had to scan some artifacts, then alter them...


The problem is, the artificats were obscenely hard to find, they were basically integrated into the ground and didn't come up to my character's knees. It was very hard to see them.

Why can't I pull out my tricorder and at least get an idea of where I am going? We really need a "scan for objective" button next to the scan for anomaly button (or make it a toggle, or make it scan the closest objective or anomaly).

Now some maps, that could be disabled due to interference or something, you know, more immersion.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-01-2010, 05:07 AM
I did that mission in open beta and it took me like 40 minutes to find them all. I was on a grey rainy world, looking for grey artifacts, good times!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-01-2010, 05:14 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abradax
I did a quest last night where I had to scan some artifacts, then alter them...


The problem is, the artificats were obscenely hard to find, they were basically integrated into the ground and didn't come up to my character's knees. It was very hard to see them.

Why can't I pull out my tricorder and at least get an idea of where I am going? We really need a "scan for objective" button next to the scan for anomaly button (or make it a toggle, or make it scan the closest objective or anomaly).

Now some maps, that could be disabled due to interference or something, you know, more immersion.
hit v.... it is in there allready.. it will send you to the "crafting" things if they are closer than the mission objective but i've had no problem finding items with the scan button
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-01-2010, 05:18 AM
Oh yes, exploration missions...but now, we got the scan function, so it's not as bad as it used to be
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-01-2010, 05:52 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abradax
I did a quest last night where I had to scan some artifacts, then alter them...


The problem is, the artificats were obscenely hard to find, they were basically integrated into the ground and didn't come up to my character's knees. It was very hard to see them.

Why can't I pull out my tricorder and at least get an idea of where I am going? We really need a "scan for objective" button next to the scan for anomaly button (or make it a toggle, or make it scan the closest objective or anomaly).

Now some maps, that could be disabled due to interference or something, you know, more immersion.
You can use your tricorder to help find the items, its the little scan icon on the left of youe mini map, or V. it pulls out the tricorder and scans the area , a blue line will appear for a bout 2 seconds indicating the direction of the next clickable objet. is a nice QoL feature taht was added in the beta
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-01-2010, 07:06 AM
It didn't help with finding the Klingon Spatial Charges in that one mission though.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:37 PM.