Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 111
02-01-2010, 11:49 PM
Thanks Marauder. I think the most successful games (from the public's point of view) are the ones that tend to be the most up front about ALL the details. Population figures, heck, even not selling more copies if the servers can't handle the load. Basically, putting quality before quantity and money. We know it has to make money, but I think you'll gain more of a following, more players, and in the end, more money, if people are sure there's no hiding data of any sort going on.

And, if you could, instead of just posting things like 'ETA should be no more than 2 hours', actual times would be helpful. IE, the server went down at 7:36pm PST, and should be up no later than 9:36 PST. At least that way we have a little more idea.

More in game details of exact dynamics of skills, weapon abilities, etc, would also be nice and forthcoming.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 112
02-02-2010, 12:22 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spots
And, if you could, instead of just posting things like 'ETA should be no more than 2 hours', actual times would be helpful. IE, the server went down at 7:36pm PST, and should be up no later than 9:36 PST. At least that way we have a little more idea.
I agree ... and ideally please add in the GMT ... thanks.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 113 Server Messaging
02-02-2010, 12:33 AM
Thanks for the helpful pointers and advice. By working directly with the community will help us provide the information you crave for and make for a better gaming experience. Keep sending us your ideas!!

Cheers,

Phil
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 114
02-02-2010, 12:40 AM
I must admit that performance really improved since the start of beta. Give us more server that we can bring down...kill em big time just joking...nice to hear that your working on it and glad that so many like this game
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 115
02-02-2010, 01:02 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by GM_Marauder
Thanks for the helpful pointers and advice. By working directly with the community will help us provide the information you crave for and make for a better gaming experience. Keep sending us your ideas!!

Cheers,

Phil

Can you add some canon bridges? like a replica of all the major bridges that was shown in the different series and movies?

I like the clasical bridge on the cruisers, but I would like to have an option to be able to select the original bridge from the TNG series and movies when I'm on my Galaxy or Sovereign class.

It's something that I would gladly pay for thru C-Store if I had to.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 116
02-02-2010, 01:13 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enterprise-D View Post
Can you add some canon bridges? like a replica of all the major bridges that was shown in the different series and movies?

I like the clasical bridge on the cruisers, but I would like to have an option to be able to select the original bridge from the TNG series and movies when I'm on my Galaxy or Sovereign class.

It's something that I would gladly pay for thru C-Store if I had to.
He's Director of Customer Service which has absolutely nothing to do with designing the actual game.

Go put this in the feedback forum.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 117
02-02-2010, 01:19 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gonzoxl5 View Post
If you'd ever actually been a part of a major complex software project you'd know that the real stress on a system comes not during a beta cycle (however much testing you try to do) but when you start picking up a real population of users.

The only way Cryptic could have really got a better handle on this would have been by phasing in the population, even then they'd have had to break that up as the US all coming on at once must represent a massive number of users.

These guys are working really hard, round the clock, to make our experience better - thats all they can do and thats all we need them to do.

They need us to have some patience and keep the faith.

Remember, there is nothing in it for these guys if they fail, so why would they want to ?
Resource planning is a key point in IT area..I know it is hard to guess what load they can count with but in that case the server and networking resources should be way overcalculated in order to be able to handle the load.. It reminds me that the servers are not separated for US and EU players causing problems during peak times(overlap). It will be a problem when the (after release) load will hit the servers in peak time and then they will shutdown the servers for meantenance just like they did so far. If they have separated the servers having data centers(server farms) in both EU and US I think it would do the trick. This tells me that they also underestimated the fun base in EU, perhaps they did not even count with it.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 118
02-02-2010, 01:21 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enterprise-D View Post
Can you add some canon bridges? like a replica of all the major bridges that was shown in the different series and movies?

I like the clasical bridge on the cruisers, but I would like to have an option to be able to select the original bridge from the TNG series and movies when I'm on my Galaxy or Sovereign class.

It's something that I would gladly pay for thru C-Store if I had to.
Defiant style bridges are available for the escorts, Voyager styled bridges are available for science ships, and Galaxy styled bridges are available for cruisers, you have to wait until T2 (LCDR ships) to get these though.

I'd like an Excelsior/Constitution style bridge myself. The huge Galaxy bridge just feels out of place when you know you're supposed to be in a Constitution refit, but then your other option is the tutorial style bridge that looks like they started to try and make a Constitution style bridge, but got distracted halfway through and made the bridge on a 45 degree angled square instead of a circle.

EDIT: The Klingon bridges actually look pretty good (for being klingon anyway)... too bad they're still using federation crew to man their bridges though.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 119
02-02-2010, 01:39 AM
Plz fix Boff officer rewards not being generated.

Thank you ^^
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 120
02-02-2010, 01:55 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by zinc View Post
Whoa! You guys continue to blow away all our expectations. We had so many people playing Star Trek this weekend... It's incredible! Of course, whenever we break population records, we find more room for improvement, as well.

We had some issues this weekend that brought the servers down a couple times. This was due, in large part, to lots of people claiming items from the C-Store and an unrelated bug on the back-end. We've been working all weekend to sort these issues out and we should have some fixes rolled out later today.

We're continuing to work on server performance and stability, too. We're constantly squeezing more and more out of every little bit of processor power we have.

These fixes will go a long way in better preparing us for the inevitable rush tomorrow and this coming weekend. Thanks for bearing with us during this time.

I know this weekend was rough, but be sure that the team here at Cryptic is entirely focused on getting any issue we find resolved and fixed as soon as possible.

Thanks again for your patience.

-Zn
Thanks for the update, much appreciated.
In crisis management it is always good to communicate. and believe me for some people you have to treat them like they are in chock (me excluded ofc ).
just have in mind that for some people on the forums a unexpected server outage is a worse tragedy then the IRL is ending.
Keep up the good work, hope that people will flock to this game coz it got so much potential....
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:22 PM.