Lt. Commander
# 1 Some issues and suggestions.
02-01-2010, 08:16 PM
So Cryptic has created a beautiful game for us to play with and I for one is glad to have it. But it isn't really running smoothly yet, so here are some thoughts for consideration.

First off, I'd like to point out, that people do pay for head start, I am one of them. Yet the servers are down constantly. Ok... so there are issues. I get that. But that isn't an excuse if you ask me. A product sold, is a product that should work. It would reflect well on Cryptic to refund 2-3 days worth of playing time, because head start was for a lot of time, "stare at screen for many".

I do have faith in Cryptic to fix the problems but I also do think, it should have been addressed before launch.

The major issue I have with STO is the endless loading screens. Ok.. so I am not a programmer and not a server administrator, but... loading between sectors? "Space.. the final frontier inhibited by loading screens". And if that isn't bad enough, you have to load into the sol system and then move for 10 seconds before ... you guessed it a loading screen pops up for the earth station itself. I am not sure what to suggest here, but I quite certain it could be done a bit better.
I know that you can't do away with them all, I get that, but some of them are downright stupid and effort should be made to prune out unnecessary game time wasted. I am paying to play you know... not waiting.

Now. The absolutely worst part of the game, which is incidently linked to the endless loading screens, is the fact that you can spend a significant amount of time just trying to play with your friends, as the game does NOT necessarily send you and your team mates to the same instances. Sometimes it does, but most often it does not.