Go Back   Star Trek Online > Feedback > Builds, Powers, and Game Mechanics
Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I'm an admiral, I can't promote my bridge officers to Captain.

If it's lore reasons, or whatever, fine, they can all stay commanders.

My issue is, I have 9 points in photonic theory in order to get Photonic Shockwave 3, but I can't train it to any of my officers as it's an "Unknown node". Why is Photonic Shockwave 3 untrainable when I can train other rank 3 skills, that take up the Commander spot.

If this unknown node thing is a seperate issue than so be it, but as it stand now I still can't train it.

Is anyone else having this issue?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-05-2010, 08:53 PM
are you a science officer? Only science officer can train science skills...

it was laid out in the very first star base quest if you READ the text.

otherwise just bug it
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-05-2010, 08:58 PM
DAMNIT JIM, of course i'm a science officer. I already bugged it, I'm just checkin if it's only me tho.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-05-2010, 09:11 PM
What are you trying to train over? Unknown node typically means the ability you are trying to replace is broken (ie aceton field).
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-05-2010, 09:12 PM
haha... just checking... cause we have some silly people that just exploit exp bugs or do pvp skill points farming all the way to admiral and then go... maybe I should train... oh what is that skill?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-05-2010, 09:14 PM
Im trying to train over photonic shockwave 2, but it won't let me train -any- of my science officers. They all have a variety of skills and are at Commander level.

I need that skill to do some hardcore science.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-05-2010, 11:43 PM
both spock and mr scott had the rank of captain in the later movies, and they were serving under kirk, who was also reduced to the rank of captain, so an admiral should be able to have a captain serving under them, even if they are only so in rank and not command.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-05-2010, 11:48 PM
Has nothing to do with lore and everything to do with "There are only 4 levels of bridge officer skills and stations"
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 AM.