Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Before purchasing STO !!!
02-02-2010, 08:44 AM
I'd like to try STO but there are a few issues I need to know first.
-My laptop is very good in everything except for graphics,it has an integrated Intel chip with 128MB only.Is it enough?
-I have a 3.5G wireless connection with a limited-sized data transfer (1GB/month:that's downloading and uploading);meaning extra charge when exceeding 1GB,so does anybody know how much STO does in...let's say...one hour?
thx
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-02-2010, 08:47 AM
Tough question.
Wait until they have a free trial offer(all MMO's have one) and then try it. To waste 50 dollars only to not have it run would not be fun.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3 Probably not
02-02-2010, 08:48 AM
Sorry to say it but... I'd say no. Maybe if you put all the settings at lowest and used a crappy resolution it would work.

By comparison I run it on a somewhat aging desktop with 4gigs of ram, dual core processor, nvidia 9600gt card, and I'd say it's BARELY good enough to run it at 1920x1200. And by barely I mean frequently I get sub-30fps.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-02-2010, 08:50 AM
Assuming your laptop can run STO, you would have to set it to low-med video settings.

Regarding your download limit, 1GB really wont be ideal considering game patches etc.. so i'd dare say you will be exceeding your monthly cap quite regularly.

Might wana look into increasing your cap to 5-10GB at least
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5 thx
02-02-2010, 08:56 AM
Thanks for helping
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-02-2010, 08:58 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schmerznebel View Post
I'd like to try STO but there are a few issues I need to know first.
-My laptop is very good in everything except for graphics,it has an integrated Intel chip with 128MB only.Is it enough?
-I have a 3.5G wireless connection with a limited-sized data transfer (1GB/month:that's downloading and uploading);meaning extra charge when exceeding 1GB,so does anybody know how much STO does in...let's say...one hour?
thx
Honestly, I'd hold off until I got a Del Taco code (2 free days of play time) if I were you. Intel has notoriously poor graphics.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-02-2010, 09:00 AM
unfortunately you do not have a 3D graphics card. You have a 2D integrated display which can not be upgraded. It's not going to run a 3D intensive game that also uses a physx engine.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:34 AM.