Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I got my pre-order game in the mail today. I installed the DVD. It would not install Star Trek Online.exe, or the Uninstaller. I have no way of playing the game even though I've installed the massive CD. I tried the Star Trek Online downloader that coderanger mentioned, but it's been stuck at 0% for hours. I don't want to have to download the entire game after I just installed it.

I submitted a ticket for Tech Support since noone on the forums could help me. I really want to play Star Trek Online, but without the ticket system, and without anyone on the forums to help me... I have no idea what to do. I'm at my wits end. All I can figure is I must be doing something obviously wrong.

Is there any way to get a hold of the Star Trek Online.exe file? Obviously my pre-order game doesn't have it installed with it...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-02-2010, 04:03 PM
Oh hey. Maybe I'm just an idiot. I didn't enter the product registration key on the website.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-02-2010, 04:05 PM
Quote:
I got my pre-order game in the mail today. I installed the DVD. It would not install Star Trek Online.exe, or the Uninstaller. I have no way of playing the game even though I've installed the massive CD. I tried the Star Trek Online downloader that coderanger mentioned, but it's been stuck at 0% for hours. I don't want to have to download the entire game after I just installed it.

I submitted a ticket for Tech Support since noone on the forums could help me. I really want to play Star Trek Online, but without the ticket system, and without anyone on the forums to help me... I have no idea what to do. I'm at my wits end. All I can figure is I must be doing something obviously wrong.

Is there any way to get a hold of the Star Trek Online.exe file? Obviously my pre-order game doesn't have it installed with it...
What do you mean by "It wouldn't install"?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-02-2010, 04:16 PM
I get THIS error message. Screencapped for your convenience. I click Abort, cancellation stops. I click Retry, and nothing happens (it just comes up again). I click Ignore... everything installs as usual. But without the Star Trek Online.exe file, the client won't launch. Basically I have a great big house full of Star Trek Online, but the door won't open to let me in.

http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/3282/erroriyv.jpg
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-02-2010, 04:24 PM
Btw, thank you so much coderanger for giving this some attention. I like to think I'm not completely inept at these things, and I appreciate your patience for giving all of us trying out the game some of your time. I understand MMO launches are never smooth at first, I'm just completely helpless at the moment.

Edited for english correction.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-02-2010, 04:33 PM
Quote:
Btw, thank you so much coderanger for giving this some attention. I like to think I'm not completely inept at these things, and I appreciate your patience for giving all of us trying out the game some of your time. I understand MMO launches are never smooth at first, I'm just completely helpless at the moment.

Edited for english correction.
Check your task manager. There is probably a copy or Star Trek Online.exe running in the background.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-02-2010, 04:37 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderanger
Check your task manager. There is probably a copy or Star Trek Online.exe running in the background.
Checked my task manager. There are no multiple copies of SETUP.EXE or Star Trek Online.exe running in the background.

I also get THIS error message after the DVD is finished installing (after I ignore the Star Trek Online.exe file). I'm starting to think maybe there's something to do with Internet Explorer? I use Firefox...

Screencapped for your convenience.

http://img689.imageshack.us/img689/5...sexplorerg.jpg

Edited for less idiocy on my part.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-02-2010, 04:44 PM
There is also a shortcut icon on my desktop after installation. It's simply a blank .exe icon and clicking on it brings up that Windows cannot find the file, and if I want to his Browse or Cancel. I'd hit Browse, but I have no idea where I could find that file (since presumably it wasn't written from the DVD to my hard drive).
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-02-2010, 05:18 PM
Does $PROG FILES\Cryptic Studios exist? The error is saying it can't copy the file onto the disk.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-02-2010, 05:23 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderanger
Does $PROG FILES\Cryptic Studios exist? The error is saying it can't copy the file onto the disk.
Yeah, it exists. And it has 7.69 GB worth of files inside the folder.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:16 AM.