Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Spamming the space bar is getting really annoying in my escort I read in open beta that a guy used auto hot key to make it loop. Would that be considered an exploit since its a 3rd party program?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-02-2010, 10:41 PM
Making macros will probably get you banned from the game. Since only paying subscribers can post on the forums now(and will be easily caught), I'd say you'd better forget the idea completely.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-02-2010, 10:46 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forgotten-Nemesis View Post
Making macros will probably get you banned from the game. Since only paying subscribers can post on the forums now(and will be easily caught), I'd say you'd better forget the idea completely.
they won't ban you, otherwise they would have to ban everyone with a g# gaming keyboard.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-02-2010, 11:02 PM
aye, I wouldn't worry about it. It's been questioned, but no real clear response has ever been given.


But in reality, regular keyboards were never intended or improved to be used for gameplay. A little bit of an investment into a gaming keyboard or gamepad (G13 and the like, are great accessories to your standard keyboard for example) can save you a ton of pain. Ground basic fire is set to a timed repeating macro, space phasers as well, and multiple abilities for both space and ground. The LCD info cryptic put into the game as well is neat, as I can play without the UI and see my shields/health on my gamepads LCD screen - so they had gaming boards in mind in creation.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-03-2010, 06:59 AM
There was a huge thread on it before the board wipe. Someone eventually came up with a script for autohotkey to basically tap the spacebar every couple of seconds that you could turn on and off with the caps lock key.

I use it, its a godsend for more than two weapons. To be honest, I have more important things to concentrate on than tapping the spacebar every couple of seconds for hours on end...like watch my shield quadrants, teammates (for extend shields, etc), etcetcetc....... and Im sure my thumb appreciates the lack of stress.

And no its not botting, simply because I am there playing at the keyboard and busy with other things.

And it's also not canon....seriously. Did any Trek captain have to repeat themselves after issuing a fire at will command?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-03-2010, 07:08 AM
hmmm man this sucks!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-03-2010, 07:16 AM
Seriously, Cryptic.... Just allow auto fire on each and every weapon. It's aggravating my carpal-tunnel.

/carebearstare...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-03-2010, 07:24 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirrian
Seriously, Cryptic.... Just allow auto fire on each and every weapon. It's aggravating my carpal-tunnel.

/carebearstare...
Totally agree, once I "The Captain of the ship" give the order to fire, I don't expect to have to repeat myself
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-03-2010, 07:46 AM
if you have your macro firing ever 1/10th of a second its gonna disrupt your alt and ctrl keys no matter what, because it has to fire 1/10th of a second and fires those keys. It can be a pain to manage your abilities but its worth it
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-03-2010, 08:09 AM
Even firing phasers every second will mess with your other abilities. You'll hit buttons, stuff won't go through. You'll start having to tap everything 2 or 3 times. There has to be a better solution. Please cryptic just give us autofire already.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 PM.